WIP Wednesday

It was a long weekend, so I made the most of it by progressing two of my works-in-progress and starting a new one!

First and most important, my mini quilt for the #starblockquiltswap is almost done, just the binding to finish. A lot of people on instagram suggested black and white stripe binding, but I remembered how awesome the cotton+steel dottie in night owl is for binding, (and I don’t own any B&W stripe fabric), so here is what I decided.

I finished cutting out the tunic from Handmade Style. Anna (Noodlehead) has finished hers, but it won’t take long if I stick to it. And yes, that’s Liberty lawn for the placket, cuffs, and bias binding. I had won a gift certificate, then I bought 2 half metres, and so it was in my stash which makes it free! Ha!

All cut out and ready

All cut out and ready

And I started the Star Light, Star Dark quilt-along with Jessica at Quilty Habit. I loved the colours in her original quilt, so I am doing the same–purple, teal/turquoise, and green. Or maybe I’ll only do the 4 block bay quilt and omit the green.

dark purple stars in progress

dark purple stars in progress

Linking up to Lorna and friends for Let’s Bee Social.

6 comments

  1. Looking forward to see how your tunic comes along . I’m thinking of trying garment sewing again . Great idea to make a little Liberty go a long way

    1. It’s an interesting fabric, nice feel to it but horribly expensive, so I can’t see ever justifying making a whole garment.

      On Thu, Aug 4, 2016 at 7:16 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. I really love that pink and grey, hope you share the finished project.

    1. yes, do come back and visit in a couple of weeks!

      On Thu, Aug 4, 2016 at 12:42 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. Looking forward to seeing your tunic. I’m tempted to play along with Star Light, Star Dark…but where to find time??

    1. Lol, I think I’m crazy, but it’s a different type of quilt than I usually make, and I really am looking forward to playing with the quilting.

      On Sun, Aug 7, 2016 at 5:24 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

