Solstice stitching

(Because alliteration is just so fun). This week was super-easy, making HST square units for the Summer Solstice quilt-along with Melissa at Happy Quilting. Doubly easy because I used my flying geese ruler to make triangles, which were then sewn into the squares, no trimming required! This is a trick I learned from following Bonnie Hunter of Quiltville.

HST units for Summer Solstice quilt

HST units for Summer Solstice quilt

I also progressed trimming my oversized flying geese down to size.

flying geese trimmed up for Summer Solstice quilt

flying geese trimmed up for Summer Solstice quilt

But I haven’t yet cut out my revised selections for the drunkard’s path blocks, so that I will be all ready for next week. It was really hot in my sewing room on some of these days, but thankfully we finally received some rain on Monday and it has cooled down a little. (A really rainy day on the upcoming holiday Monday would be even better…so I can sew). If you take a peek at my instagram, you will see that I have also been putting together a mini quilt for the #starblockquiltswap. Rainbow-tized, of course.

Linking up to Happy Quilting and to Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts.

7 comments

  1. Love your colors!

  2. They look lovely! It will be fun to see your progress

    1. Thanks Carla, have a great day!

  3. These are so beautiful! I started on my HSTs last night and got about halfway done. 🙂

  4. happyquiltingmelissa · ·

    Your HST’s look so pretty!!! I just love all of your happy colors!!! Great job getting them all stitched up 🙂

  5. Absolutely love your choices of fabrics/colours Lisa! There are so many good QALs in QBL this summer I wish I could do them all. sniff.

    1. I know, I’m probably doing too many but I pinky-swear I’ll get some of my made quilt tops all done too lol

      On Thu, Aug 4, 2016 at 1:55 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

