It’s only fabric

On Monday night, after cleaning the bathroom and vacuuming, I rewarded myself by making the flying geese for the Summer Solstice quilt along, with Melissa from Happy Quilting.

flying geese

But as I laid them out on the ironing board after the final press, something looked wrong. Why was there so much seam allowance past the tip of the goose? So then I sighed, and shook my head, and went to bed.

Do you realize what I did? Yes, I used the drunkards path squares for the flying geese instead of the squares I cut for the wings. This is what I call a design opportunity. And an excuse to play in my stash, because I don’t have enough of these fabrics to cut another set of drunkards path squares, so here is my fabric pull for new squares. Hmm, I wonder if I should use even more fabrics to increase the scrappiness.

additional fabric pull

But it’s only fabric, and I’m sure I can figure out something to do with the other pieces. Next however I need to trim all these geese… Linking up to Melissa at Happy Quilting and Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts.

flying geese trimmed

20 comments

  1. Michele T · ·

    Luckily you have fabrics that match up very nicely… I’d have to go fabric shoppingπŸ€—

    1. Fabric shopping is always a good idea. I’m actually debating about using a lighter purple…

  2. I’m making mistakes all the time with my every step, it’s part of sewing for me! And I’m impressed you did the housework first! x

    1. As I said, it’s only fabric, i can always buy more…

  3. And a nice reward it was;-0 Glad you didn’t waste the fabric but just trimmed and moved on. No crying over spilt milk! There’s always more fabric.

    1. I have a healthy stash in order to make scrappy quilts, so I’m actually looking forward to this design opportunity!

  4. It’s all part of the quilting journey. I have spent the morning cutting out hundreds of 2 and 2.5 inch squares using a new ruler, it was great and really speeded things up, but three times I made the same mistake and cut the squares the wrong size. The lesson is do the housework first then it is easier to concentrate without thinking of the things that I should be doing. At least my local fabric shop has 25% off this week, and now I have an excuse to go back πŸ™‚

  5. I find that if I sew too late at night is when mistakes start happening… looks like a nice save. Love the color combo… it’s the same as my living room ; )

    Greetings from Germany!

    1. This is going to be a bright and happy quilt!

  6. I love the fact that you will use all those geese. I always think mistakes like these are happy accidents that let us add more fabric and sparkle to a quilt.

    1. And I’m plotting how to use the other squares in a border…or a pillow…or I may make some more geese for either of those!

  7. happyquiltingmelissa · ·

    Been there, done that πŸ˜‰ Glad you are finding a new way to tie some scrappy goodness into the oopsie πŸ˜‰ Your Geese will be absolutely perfectly trimmed to size, so that is another bonus πŸ˜‰ Great job!!!

    1. I love your perspective Melissa, you always see the silver lining ;)πŸ˜‰

  8. I know the feeling. You look at the pieces and think ‘Hmmm something is not quite right…’ until you figure out where you went wrong =) You choose beautiful colours for your project.

    1. It’s been a while since I’ve had a project all cut out so I can just sit and sew whenever I have a minute, it’s a nice feeling. And mistakes happen, we learn and move on.

      On Thu, Jul 21, 2016 at 6:17 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  9. I love making flying geese, but it’s really annoying when it goes wrong. I like your attitude of “playing.” Who knows what fabulous thing is going to come from this?!

    1. I’m actually debating going with a different fabric entirely for the drunkards path blocks now and really shake things up!

      On Fri, Jul 22, 2016 at 9:08 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  10. That kind of mistake makes me crazy! But I’ve often found that it leads me into something even better and more exciting … I think you’re headed there too :*)

    1. I was debating using my multicoloured background fabric instead, but I think I would lose the effect of the frame around the centre star. However I still may go ahead and use two fabrics for each of the 4 colours I need to replace. I love my stash!

  11. […] also progressed trimming my oversized flying geese down to […]

