Quilt Canada Fabric (Sunday Stash)

When I first decided to attend Quilt Canada in June, I wasn’t thinking about the shopping possibilities.  But they were great! I tried to restrain myself by deciding to focus on fabrics which I could use for quilt backgrounds, since up to this point I haven’t stockpiled many large solid or near-solid cuts in my stash. And Len’s Mill Store had the Free Spirit designer solids for $7.69 / metre (plus tax), so although it was hard to decide, 4 m each of the grey and dark blue followed me home.

qc free spirit solids

Then Sew Sisters had little fat quarter sushi rolls for $1 each! So I had to buy three. Plus I can never have enough purple fabric, so another purple from A Stitch in Time was added to the pile.

qc fat quarter candy

Speaking of A Stitch in Time, they always seems to have good prices at these shows, so I found a few one metre cuts that appealed to me (yes, that does say $7.99 / metre. Generally quilt shop fabric runs $12-$16 / metre.)  Clockwise from top left they are an unknown batik, Chatterbox from Honor Roll by Anna Maria Horner, Mind’s Eye from Field Study by Anna Maria Horner, and La Scala by StudioRK for Robert Kaufman.

qc 1 yard cuts

And at my very first stop, Fabric Spot also had some good prices on fabric, so I snatched up a couple of purple selections from the sale rack. Karen, the owner, asked me if I was back already and I said, but I just got here? Then I realized that maybe she had recognized me from my instagram picture, and sure enough, we figured out that she had. Hi Karen!

qc purples

Fabrics from Dowry by Anna Maria Horner and Bungalow by Joel Dewberry

Linking up to the sparkliest guy in the southern hemisphere, Molli Sparkles for Sunday Stash.

11 comments

  1. Love the deer fabric–and I have some of that brown/blue/green/gold between the pink and blue! Always fun to see “my” fabric in someone else’s stash. I’d say you had a very successful shopping day.

    1. I’ve been trying to challenge myself with more multicoloured fabrics, now just to find a project to use it in.

      On Sun, Jul 3, 2016 at 1:04 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. You got some good buys at Quilt Canada. I got some buys but I wouldn’t say they were bargains, although I did pick up some 20% off fabric at Fabric Spot, sorry I missed the Free Spirit bargains at Len’s, oh well.

    1. I used to only buy Kona, but now I don’t really care about mixing my solids. The grey is a really nice medium grey with a bluish tinge.

      On Sun, Jul 3, 2016 at 7:00 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. Wow, you did well! I didn’t buy too many fabrics at Quilt Canada, but I did get a fantastic buy on some hand-dyes just as I was leaving!

    1. I definitely bought more than I “needed”, now back to sewing!

      On Sun, Jul 3, 2016 at 12:59 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  4. I think it is really smart to buy larger yardage for background fabric on occasion; I tend to have to run out and but the larger yardages almost every time. And how awesome that Instagram is making us so much more connected in real life; that’s neat that Karen recognized you!

    1. I want to be able to be impulsive, to start a new quilt from stash, but on the other hand I have so many in progress! And I probably should have done more people watching, to see who else I recognized, but I was focused on the fabric 🙂

      On Sun, Jul 3, 2016 at 1:55 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  5. Quilt Canada is super amazing! Nice choices of fabrics

    1. There were some truly amazing original designs and more classic patterns shown. I like my quilts to have some imperfections, to show the hand of the maker. Now just to find more time to actually quilt…

      On Sun, Jul 3, 2016 at 10:53 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  6. The last time I went to Quilt Canada it was in Halifax. I volunteered and that got me into a Quilt Bee of wonderful women and the Mayflower Quilt Guild. It was a great way to meet friends. Port Hope makes me think of my Dad and uncle – they both went to TCS. My husband (military) and I lived in Trenton for 3 years. I still like going to the local quilt shops in Belleville and area.

