Summer Solstice Quilt fabrics

My stash is cultivated, I do maintain, to allow me to rummage and pull out fabrics to suit an impulse. I decided to join the Summer Solstice quilt-a-long with Melissa of Happy Quilting, and I loved the warmer colour palette she showed. So pinks and purples it was, with gold and orangish red to contrast, then for the background I decided to try scrappy. I have a hard time mixing low volumes with white and cream backgrounds, so I went with creams, and I also wanted to try using some of my low volume prints which contain a colour other than beige or grey.

To confirm my fabric picks, I tried a black and white photo. Nope, that original pink floral won’t work, too light.

values check 1

I created a design opportunity by messing up making an unplanned deviation on the cutting for the sashing, therefore running out of my chosen sashing fabrics, so I’m going to wait until the blocks are assembled and see what I can come up with. Here’s my final picks.

Summer Solstice QAL fabric pull

I’m making the 54″ size (4 blocks). Tell me, are you doing any quilt-a-longs this summer?

Linking up to the Summer Solstice Quilt-a-Long and Main Crush Monday with Cooking Up Quilts.

11 comments

  1. Love your colors and all the backgrounds except the music fabric–it might read too dark. I’m avoiding sew-alongs this summer. The plan is to finish projects already in the line up.

    1. You know, I have had the problem with the music note fabric in the last quilt I used it in too. I would really like to use it…well, maybe it’ll end up on the back. Thanks for your input and have a great summer!

  2. happyquiltingmelissa · ·

    This is going to be so fun in all of that scrappy happy bright goodness!!! Love it!! And great idea on the black and white picture 😉 Way to get all of that cutting knocked out 😉

    1. Thanks Melissa! This is going to be a fun project!

  3. Such pretty colors! I am doing mine in the same size. 🙂

  4. Fun colors! I haven’t done any quilt alongs yet. I started one a couple of years ago but life got in the way and I fell behind but I’ve been meaning to try again. Now that I’ve got my blog finally started it will be a good way to chart progress as one needs something to write about. I’m really not understanding why you discarded the print and why did you take a black and white photo?

    1. Because one of my background prints has the red and gold pattern on cream, i was concerned that there wouldn’t be enough contrast to the light pink floral. The black and white photo lets me see just the contrast by value, or depth, and ignore the colour. And i found that I was right, and i might have lost the visual of the star pattern. So using a black and white photo is a really good tip for confirming that your fabric pull will have the impact that you want.

    2. I will have to try a black and white photo next time I pull some fabric for a quilt. Thanks for explaining it.

  5. I’m hearing it on your unplanned deviation. Lila like it will be amazing anyhow!

    1. A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. I just hope I get as much sewing time as I would like this summer!

      On Thu, Jun 30, 2016 at 1:07 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  6. I’m not doing any quilt alongs…..I’m still working on the Midnight Mystery quilt from last year! 🙂 Have fun with the Summer Solstice; it looks like it will be a lot of fun. I recognize several of the prints you are using as they are also in my stash!

