Rainbow stash quilt

This fabric was really appropriate for the spring 2016 Modern Quilt Guild fabric challenge, because I would never have purchased this on my own to create a design. The coordinating solids are from the Fat Quarter Shop (white for the front and binding), and silver cloud for the back. Which is not the cool silver I expected, but a warm grey; and the pewter I also ordered–well, I would call it distinctly beige.

I struggled with the rigid geometry of the print, then came up with a design of the medallion based on a dresden wheel, adding colours with fabric markers (more on my design process here). And I am really happy with the final result! It finishes at 28.5 inches square, and I am planning to add a hanging sleeve and use it as a wall hanging.

#mqgfabricchallenge Rainbow Stash

For the quilting, I went with minimal marking and accentuated the rainbow wheel using curved lines (and by the way, the IDT (integrated walking foot) system on my new Pfaff worked like a charm!). I then echoed the petals thus formed to the edge of the centre square, followed with ditch quilting around the flying geese. For the corners, I thought about ghost geese, then decided to use a rainbow array of threads. Rather than boring myself with 24 triangles of straight lines, I used a variety of micro-sized free motion motifs. And then had a million threads to bury, but who’s counting? Threads used were:

Aurifil white (2024) black (2692) red (2230) grey (2600, for the bobbin during the rainbow free motion quilting)

Gutermann green (704) blue (619) orange (1720) purple (6110) yellow (827)

corner quilting detail 2

And doesn’t the back look amazing?

back of Rainbow Stash showing quilting detail

Now I’m off to enter this quilt in the spring #mqgfabricchallenge, wish me luck!

Linking up to Main Crush Monday” , TGIFF, and Finish it Up Friday, and as well this is my first finish for the Q2 Finish-A-Long (goal setting post here).

corner quilting detail

24 comments

  1. Beth T. · ·

    Very creative! You took a fabric which I, frankly, wasn’t crazy about, and created a quilt that I like very much.

    1. Thanks Beth! Rainbows are always in style, I think.

  2. I really like the final quilt! I especially like the subtle thread colored triangles made by quilting.

    1. I definitely want to explore using coloured threads for quilting again!

  3. Love the colorful quilting. Well done!

    1. Thank you, the design of this quilt was a continuing evolution and I love it!

  4. Oh, I really like the quilting! (Well, I like the entire design.)

    1. Oh, you make me giggle! This quilt was fun to make and I feel it represents “me” as a quilter, with the very traditional layout, rainbow colours (I love rainbow colours!), and fun free motion quilting.

  5. Gorgeous!! Beautiful design and that quilting…in love! I recently did a similar quilting design and it’s amazing how beautiful it turned out! Yes, lot’s of thread, but so worth it!

    1. Thank you, I really appreciate your vote of support!

  6. I love how you quilted in ghost triangles, it really draws the eye in. I like bright colors in quilts and this will make a great wall hanging! Thanks for linking your project to Main Crush Monday. šŸ™‚

  7. My goodness that’s gorgeous

  8. Beautifully done! I am especially intrigued with the results you got with the fabric markers – it looks fabulous! Going to check out your process post! Good luck in the challenge!

  9. It’s turned out beautiful Lisa, from the clever piecing to the beautiful quilting. It is lovely. Good luck in the fabric challenge.

  10. Very nice quilt, and the quilting is very creative and fun!

  11. What a great finish! I love the way you have quilted coloured geese in the background – it works really well.

  12. A great finish, Lisa! Colouring with the fabric markers was a brilliant idea, and your quilting looks amazing! Thanks for linking to TGIFF šŸ™‚

  13. […] Lisa in Port Hope shared her rainbow stash quilt. It is amazing with all the flying geese and the ghost triangles she quilted in rainbow colors. If you haven’t seen it I hope you’ll visit her blog and check it out. […]

  14. Beautiful! I love that you ghosted some HST in the different colors, it really adds some pop to the negative space.

    1. I’m glad that I’m confident enough in my free motion quilting to use contrasting thread, it’s definitely fun!

  15. Very cool idea to make HSTs with colored thread. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thank you, i enjoyed using my new Pfaff for some free motion quilting!

  16. Beautiful finish! The geometric pattern is so wonderfully striking! On behalf of the global 2016 FAL hosts, thanks for playing along!

    1. Thanks for hosting such an inspirational community!

      On Thu, Jun 30, 2016 at 4:26 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

