Quilters gotta quilt

Naturally. When bad things happen, a quilty hug can make people feel better.  As of today, over 1600 homes have been destroyed in Fort McMurray, Alberta, and the entire town is evacuated due to wildfires.  Normally the town is pretty isolated–its entire purpose is to service the oil sands and refineries, but across Canada and around the world, people are reaching out offers of assistance.

tutorial is at slostudio.ca

tutorial is at slostudio.ca

It didn’t take long for me to find a call for quilts–facebook group Quilts for Fort McMurray is collecting completed quilts, including small ones for pets, and the Ottawa modern quilt guild (#ottmqg) has a call out for maple leaf blocks (#quiltsforfortmac).

blue and green maple leaf block pieces

blue and green maple leaf block pieces

Here are the 2 blocks I made this weekend, with two more cut out and ready, and I am going to pull out some bee blocks and do my darndest to make a twin quilt for the Alberta group.  Throw quilts are nice, but I think that a child or teen, who may have to live with relatives or friends for months, would greatly appreciate a handmade quilt on his or her return to home after rebuilding.

Source: Westerninvestor.com

Source: Westerninvestor.com

4 comments

  1. Michele T · ·

    I have also made some blocks…. I can’t imagine what the people of Fort McMurray and surrounding area are going through! What a nightmare!

    1. Thank you for helping. It’s actually a block that I’ve never made before, and it definitely would be fun scrappy.

  2. Isn’t it awful! I’ve been watching on t.v, I think the weather is finally changing in their favour.

  3. So good Lisa! I made a few of these blocks at the sewcial too (we missed you!) And hope to make a few more. It’s nice to do something to try to help.

