Challenge progress

It’s not all about the pretty finished photos, you know, there is also the blood and sweat of hours of toil. But seriously, my biggest challenge in progressing my quilting is finding time. But I’ve been plugging away at this challenge this month. This is the Riley Blake sashing stash fabric, provided to Modern Quilt Guild members for the spring challenge. When I saw it, it seemed so geometric, I felt I needed to figure how to get away from squares and rectangles, and eventually hit on using the checkerboard section to make a dresden wheel.

Dresden wheel

Next, it was time for me to pretend to be a fabric designer. Using fabric markers, I created the rainbow of prints. Can you spot your favourites? Caroline Friedlander, Lizzy House, Tula Pink, all came over to play. I appliqued on the wheel, then added the flying geese border and turned the quilt on point.

adding flying geese border

Finally, some more triangles in the corners, and a little more colouring will finish it off. I didn’t get the measurements quite right and it’s a little off square. At this point, I think I’m just going to add a bit more of the white solid, square it up, and proceed to the quilting stage. It’s a bit big for a wall hanging but definitely impractical for a baby quilt with all the white, but I might see if it will work as a table topper–at least if no dangerous glasses of red wine are nearby.

colour choices

I have a lot of the original fabric left, but I will plan to use it in another project. I was showing off what I had done and a friend thought I had actually pieced all of the little squares in the dresden wheel (!) — no, I’m not that crazy.

Linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday with My Quilt Infatuation and Let’s Bee Social with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts (psst, Lorna, you should use this fabric for all the HST in that bear paw quilt you are contemplating…).

11 comments

  1. I love your idea of coloring in the prints! And the homage to various designers is so cute and clever. Love it!

    1. Or it could be that I am less imaginative than those designers LOL. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I was so uninspired when Isaw the fabric; but I love what you have done!

    1. Thank you! It uses the fabric in a more traditional way, and it fits with my quilting style, so I’m pretty happy with it. I’m not happy that I had to order the solids from the US though, I couldn’t find a supplier in Canada.

  3. Clever, a lovely result. Your friend is right, it does look as if the squares are pieced (if they were I would have added ‘mad’ and ‘eccentric’ to clever). Great work.
    Smiles
    Kate

    1. It is coming together nicely, I keep reminding myself that slow and steady wins the race.

      On Thu, Apr 28, 2016 at 1:21 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  4. I agree that the squares look pieced. I haven’t tried colouring on a quilt yet. It looks good.

    1. I like the fabric fun markers the best, the Tulip brand had a tendency to blur and the tips aren’t as nice.

  5. […] medallion based on a dresden wheel, adding colours with fabric markers (more on my design process here). And I am really happy with the final result! It finishes at 28.5 inches square, and I am planning […]

  6. Not gonna lie, I thought you had pieced them too!! haha And you used the markers to add the ‘print fabric’ in the center? Color me fooled twice!! Holy wow! I was impressed by your finish but now that I see how you did this – I am completely bowled over!

    1. My daughter and I coloured a pillowcase which has seen several washes, so the markers will hold their colour in the wash. I definitely will use them again for quilts.

