Small pieces

On the Easter weekend, I felt the need for the zen which comes from piecing a million small pieces of fabric together (well, maybe only 80), so I went back to the Farmer’s Wife quilt-a-long, with Angie from GnomeAngel, and picked fabrics for block #30, Em. Which makes me think of Auntie Em, from the Wizard of Oz. If you’re local to Port Hope, do try to get a ticket to this weekend’s performance of the Wizard of Oz at the Capitol Theatre, it’s really well done and an enjoyable show. We have a couple of friends who are involved as actors or production staff.

Lots of tiny pieces

Lots of tiny pieces

I rotary cut this block, using strips from my scrap basket, including the pink fabric which was trimmed from the backing of my niece’s Refracted quilt. In hindsight, I could have used 8 flying geese forming the diamond in the centre. But I really like how the colours worked in my block to make the pattern stand out. I have realized that many times I unconsciously use colours close to those in the book, but in this case I liked the oranges that Angie used but then added the complementary purple and pink. It’s a bit bigger than 6.5 inches unfinished, but I think it will all work out once I add the setting triangles.

my Kate Spain scraps are coming in handy for these blocks

my Kate Spain scraps are coming in handy for these blocks

There seems to be a checkerboard theme going, so the next 2 blocks were similar. The quarter-square triangles of Viola (#98) seemed huge after the teeny triangles in the Em block! But by strip piecing it went quickly. And why stop there? I went on and cut out Nellie (#77) as well. I wanted to fussy cut something for the “larger” squares, but sadly my stash seems to have either large scale prints or blenders, so I eventually settle on the birds print from Honor Roll, by Anna Maria Horner, in orange.

Nellie, in progress

Nellie, in progress

Whoosh, that’s a lot of piecing, and my scrap basket doesn’t seem to be any less full. Linking up to Scraptastic Tuesday with Leanne at She Can Quilt, and with Let’s Bee Social with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts (see button in sidebar).

5 comments

  1. No wonder your scrap box is still full, those are very tiny pieces! Love the first one.

    1. It took me a couple of years to generate a significant amount of scraps, but I think they’re self propagating now šŸ˜‰

  2. My goodness, some teeny tiny piecing there! I love your colour combos for each one!

    1. Thank you, although I was really tempted to make the block at 12″ as well šŸ™‚

  3. Teeny piecing which will not make much of a dent in the scrap volume! Unless you make lots of them? Thank you for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

