Squeak

Kona solids and free motion quilting fun

Kona solids and free motion quilting fun

I have to say this seems like my best ever quarter in the finish-a-long. I finished the Refracted Quilt, Cargo Duffle Bag, and Windows Sweater. Then, to squeak in at the last minute, this shining star pillow (goal-setting post here).
DSC_0118cargo duffle finalwindow panes sweater in season

This pillow started with 8 Kona azure triangles that I cut for another project and didn’t like. I added Kona caribbean and silver to make this simple star arrangement.

Feathers in the star points– for the second one, I tried a double spine, but I didn’t like the effect, so I went back to the single. This variation might bother me if I were to give this pillow away, but as I am keeping it, it’s all good.
double spined feather

Next I wanted a contrast to the feathers so I did a lot of doodling involving straight lines, before deciding on the design with pebbles up the centre in the blue star points.

Finally, the background. I like the shadow shapes made by stitching that I have seen others do (Jess of Elven Garden and Sharon at Musings of a Menopausal Melon) so how about some flying geese in the corner? The orange peels might be a little wobbly, but good. Finally a zipper back using Migratory Path by Anna Maria Horner and a binding of Kona Iron (I like using binding when the 1/4″ seam allowance needs to be maintained on a pillow).

ghost flying geeseshining star pillow backing

Linking up to the Finish-A-Long with Leanne at She Can Quilt and TGIFF!

4 comments

  1. Quilting looks very good; I love the circles in the diamonds.

  2. I second that. Love the colors – and the quilting is beautiful also.

  3. The quilting is incredible in the star quilt. It really enhances the shape of the star. Congratulations on having the best quarter ever.

  4. The quilting on this is amazing! Love the details it gives the solids. Outstanding! Thank you for participating in the FAL, on behalf of the 2016 global FAL hosts

