The Don’t touch my stuff Bag

My sister listened to Iron Maiden, AC-DC, and other heavy metal groups in high school. So when I won this Timeless Treasures fabric from the very funny Val at Purple Boots and Pigtails, I knew immediately that something for her would come out of it.

Don't touch my stuff.  side view

I picked the Ellie Travel Case (tutorial by Fabric Mutt). And it turned out fairly cute, although I’m not really happy with the zipper tabs or the raw edges showing under the handle. The burgundy Mochi linen was really hard to match, so I decided to go completely different with the bright green zipper. The lining is a Parson Grey laminate for practicality, and it wasn’t too difficult to work with, I simply used a walking foot to stitch the sew-in interfacing in place, and worked with the wrong side of the fabric from then on.

end of bag

handle attachment

I think this pattern would work as a lunch bag, so I would like to make it again and see if I can improve on the zipper tabs. I had a few helpful comments on instagram along those lines. Speaking of IG, there has been a lot of comments this week on the change from a chronological to an algorithm based feed. I agree, I liked the “insta” part, that posts not seen would disappear in the mists. I get annoyed with facebook showing posts out of order, and I actually use FB rarely these days.

Linking up to TGIFF this week.

16 comments

  1. sillyandrea · ·

    LOVE the skull fabric, great bag. 🙂

    1. I am liking it too!

  2. Michele T · ·

    Cute bag!!

  3. Great look and fun with the bright green zipper. Growing up, all the “bad boys” on the bus listened to the hard rock. Now when I hear a lot of that music it is nostalgic for me and I actually like it. 🙂

    1. I think the best music is what has survived. I started going to a gym which plays a “classic rock” radio station with songs which were popular when I was in high school and university. Guess that makes me a classic 😉

  4. I love the name you gave this bag. It’s such a fun project and I’m sure your sister will appreciate it!

    1. Little bags like this are such a rewarding finish.

  5. The bag is fantastic, and I love the name you gave it!

    1. The name came to me once the bag was finished, it is definitely a cute tutorial!

  6. Too funny! I looked at that print and thought “Val would love that one!” ☺ Great finish. I hope your sister loves it. Thanks for linking up with TGIFF @ A Quarter Inch from the Edge!

    1. Thanks for hosting this week, always a fun party!

  7. Beautiful bag, and lovely skull print!

    1. Thanks, it is a great tutorial!

  8. I’m going to try this tutorial, thanks for the link! You chose great fabrics!

    1. Thanks, I wasn’t too sure about the skulls at first but now I think they’re kinda fun!

