A new Local Quilt Shop (Sunday Stash)

I have been trying to use more stash this year, like many of you, since my storage containers doth overfloweth and I am also trying to finish up projects. But one day, while driving home by myself (because I usually carpool), I made a quick diversion to Annie’s Quilt Shop in Newcastle (Ontario, not the one in the UK). Housed in a beautiful old brick building, she has an eclectic assortment of fabrics, and a nice selection of patterns.

I was pleased to spy an impressive array of Cotton + Steel (2 shelves!), and a few other modern prints. I added to my red stash with some Lizzy House Pearl Bracelets, then picked up the navy C+S Wordfind print out of the fat quarter basket sitting so temptingly on the cutting table.

Annie's quilt shop purchases

I will be going back again. (Ps, I have also updated my local guilds and links page with this shop.)

While I’m at it, would you look at those other fabrics from a few other stops over the past few months. More red prints, and a nice teal print I found for a steal at the Fabricland in Oshawa, as well as a white-on-white (not shown) that I’m sure I will use sometime. Seriously, I promise.

DSC_0172 (2) (1280x828)

Timeless Treasures red stripe and Christmas print from The Stitch Witch, and a Robert Kaufman fusions stripe from Fabricland, plus Lizzy House pearl bracelets

DSC_0166 (2) (1280x853)

Linking up to the fabulous Jen at A Quarter Inch from the Edge for Sunday Stash.

11 comments

  1. Michele T · ·

    I made that same promise to myself!! And seriously, that’s not all that much fabric that you bought… Just think of all the fabric that you left in the shops!! Lol

    1. Ooh, yes, I hope there’s some left the next time i go back.

  2. Great additions to your stash! Nice collection of reds started.

  3. It’s always good to hear about a new shop in Ontario. I love your red fabrics especially the stripe.

  4. Great fabrics. I’m trying to reduce my stash as well.

  5. I applaud your efforts to use more of your stash, but I too would be helpless to resist both Pearl Bracelets and C+S prints. You did well to only buy this wee amount. Thanks for linking up with Sunday Stash! I just noticed that you’re going to Glamp Stitchalot. I’m going too!

    1. Enjoy Glamp Stitchalot! Actually I went this past November, it was amazing but i didn’t get much sewing done. I’m slowly working on the quilt but it’s going to take several months more. Maybe i should take that button off šŸ˜‰ On Mar 13, 2016 6:30 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. Hurray for a new shop!

    1. I should say that i don’t know how new the shop is, but it’s new to me! On Mar 15, 2016 2:01 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  7. Lovely additions here, especially that teal for a steal of a deal…okay I’ll shut up now. Fabric withdrawal is like being on a diet; one has to cheat once in a while right?

    1. Yes, well, it tends to be a little more frequent than that…what I really need to do is finish off a couple of tops so I can purge my backing stash

