Yellow Inspiration

I am nearly finished my niece’s quilt (must be done for TGIFF next week, because I’ll be hosting!), so instead of sewing I just spent a happy half hour making a mosaic (laughing at myself here, but my sewing room is *really* cold tonight). Michelle at Factotum of Arts is running a series on colour inspiration, so I decide to see what fabrics I might pick for this quilt if I were shopping today. Of course my favourite designers are well represented (Anna Maria Horner, Leah Duncan, Cotton+Steel basics).

Yellow mosaic

I tried to mix scales and graphics (geometrics, florals, etc.). I do tend to gravitate to blenders, so sometimes I have to force myself to pick the multicoloured fabrics to tie them all together. So what do you think?–how would this pattern look in these new fabrics?

layout refracted jan 9 2016

6 comments

  1. I love that palette!! great choices! Thank you for linking up

    1. There are a couple of these fabrics in my virtual shopping cart right now…

  2. Looks like fun. I especially like the upper three, the pink middle right and the horses. All three golds could end up too much–it all depends on what you do with them.

    1. I really wanted to find something that read yellow but had strong presence of the cerise or grey/navy, like the Joel Dewberry heirloom and Madrona Road morning glory in my quilt in progress. You’re right, the yellow fabrics are little too similar. With my niece’s quilt, i collected fabrics over a year, and even added more midway through the assembly process–i would use more than 9 fabrics in a re-creation. On Feb 19, 2016 6:46 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Both color palettes are bright and fun!

    1. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment 🙂

