Throwback Thursday – MVFQ

I thought it was about time that I shared My Very First Quilt (MVFQ) with you all. Thanks to Jen at A Quarter Inch from the Edge, and Throwback Thursday, here it is! I took a class at a local quilt shop in Oakville, Ontario, when I was living out that way in 1997 or so. The intent of this quilt was for the learning, so I picked colours to go with my duvet cover at the time and the rose pink carpeting which was throughout my condo.

MVFQ full

The advice was to pick a focus fabric, and I liked the faux stones, which the teacher tried valiantly to talk me out of, but I persevered and added the other prints by picking out colours from my focus fabric, plus the neutral background of course, which was also used for the backing.

mvfq showing backing

I think there were 4 sessions, two blocks per week for three weeks plus one for setting. Some people made two of every block to make a larger quilt. Everything was from templates, which were provided, and since I didn’t have a rotary cutter and mat at the time (and it was 1997, after all), I used scissors to cut everything out and sewed it on my Omega sewing machine. I enjoyed the applique to do, but I am not such a fan of the style of it, I prefer the crispness of patchwork (hmm, perhaps because I am an engineer?). Well, except for the dresden plate, that is. I like dresden plates.

Finally I decided to hand quilt it, to make it a true practice of whether I would continue to quilt, which I also really enjoyed, using various motifs discussed in the last class. It still lives on our sofa for snuggling during movies.

mvfq ohio star

Linking up to Lorna at Let’s Bee Social and to Jen at A Quarter Inch from the Edge.

11 comments

  1. Oh wow! The blocks look amazing – so perfect for your first time! I’m trying to sort out if I should learn this year with the Splendid Sampler and I think you’ve just convinced me. I am not a big fan of applique either, but I think it will be good to learn. Here’s hoping I have an enormous amount of matching FQS in my stash!

    1. The great thing about a sampler quilt is that you can go completely scrappy and it will look awesome. You can even be scrappy with the background, but using one fabric will be a little easier and tie everything together. The “rules” I learned in this class are solid and helpful, but as they say, rules are meant to be broken. I look forward to seeing your progress! On Feb 4, 2016 9:09 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. I’m glad you held your own and stuck with the stones. The hand quilting is very beautiful. I wish I had more time to do handquilting. It would be nice to get good at it.

  3. This has held the test of time well. It’s still a great quilt, and the stone border worked well with it. Go with your instinct every time.

  4. The stones! yeah! glad the teacher did not managed to talk you out of it! I can see why she tried, though. Such a traditional pattern… and in 1997, had I been a quilter back then, I probably would have done things by the “rules” and bought a lovely calico. You were a modern quilter before your time with that daring choice! I love your VFQ!

    1. Although calicos have their place, I agree the stones have kept this quilt from appearing too frumpish and grandma-like, I’m so glad the rest of the modern quilting movement has caught up to me 😉

      On Fri, Feb 5, 2016 at 7:02 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  5. Whenever someone tries to talk you out of fabric, it’s going to get interesting! We started quilting around the same time. In fact, the rose coloured fabric that you used in your sashing is in MVFQ. And in the quilt I showed for TBT! Too funny. Thanks for linking up with Throwback Thursday @ A Quarter Inch from the Edge!

    1. Although I likely wouldn’t pick out the same fabrics today, I still really love this quilt and I’m proud of how it turned out.

  6. excellent first quilt!

  7. I have some of that stone fabric. 😀

    1. That’s so funny!

      On Sun, Feb 21, 2016 at 1:47 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

