Q1-2016 in the Finish-A-Long

Here we are, a fresh new year, a fantastic fresh team of Finish-A-Long hosts, but unfortunately still the old list of UFO’s…

First, my oldest UFO (unfinished object). During the Christmas holidays, I had this crazy idea that I would be able to finish up this girlie Refracted (pattern by Melissa at Happy Quilting on UCreate) twin size quilt for my niece. Nope. But I did have some success and manage to get the top pieced. I took a Craftsy class called Quilting Big Projects on a Small Machine, so I’m going to try some of the techniques in the class on my next few quilts, starting with this one by quilting two halves of the top and then putting them together after.

layout refracted jan 9 2016

Next a few more things you’ve seen before:

Christmas Grand illusion, needs to be basted and quilted. Since I finished the top last February, I should try to get it quilted by this February.

feb 28 flimsy finished
Cargo duffle bag, I just need to sit down and work on this one weekend

All cut out anyway

All cut out anyway

And my perennial winter project, wool sweater. About 5″ left before I can steek the armholes and add the sleeves.

wool sweater april 2015

And thankfully some new projects to strive for. I like having the smaller projects as well, for times when the big ones seem too daunting. I really need to get one of my vintage machines up and running, so I can switch to some simple piecing (I find it really relaxing before bed) without destaging another project.

Noodlehead 241 tote, canvas bought at the end-of-summer sale ($5 per metre!).

summery prints

summery prints

Star pillow (free motion quilting fun!)

Joy Christmas pillow, need to add checkerboard patchwork around the main section. I’m using the leftover white sashing from the Refracted quilt and a red-and-silver Christmas print.

vintage buttons from my button box

vintage buttons from my button box

And finally a stretch target. The thing you really don’t think you will get done, but you try anyway. Sugar Block Club 2014 sampler. As you can see, I added a Swoon block, I’m going to figure out sashing, then I’m going to add an 8″ or 10″ border to make it work as a queen size. Somehow it seems like cheating, when people can make 100 dear jane blocks, to add a lot of sashing to only 13 blocks and somehow end up as a full size quilt (but phtt! I’m going to do it anyway).

layout jan 9 2016 sbc

I will occasionally be making the Farmer’s Wife 1930s blocks this quarter, continuing my Glamp Stitchalot quilt, taming my scraps bin, and adding a couple of new projects. I like to use this linky for motivating me to finish the old projects, the things I’m having a hard time getting to, not the new “squirrel” projects that have diverted me.

Thanks for stopping by! I’m going to link up to Leanne at She Can Quilt (cause she’s Canadian, eh), and then pop over to visit a few friends and leave encouraging comments.

2016 FAL
9 comments

  1. Nah, not cheating; just practical. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I almost bought new fabric for it today, then realized I had some stashed that would work nicely. The only thing that I’m still deciding is how to transition from the centre block to the outside row of blocks.

      On Sat, Jan 9, 2016 at 9:30 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. sillyandrea · ·

    Just saying hi! New reader from the maritimes.

    1. Well then , it’s so nice to meet you! On Jan 10, 2016 6:56 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. I dare ya right back Lisa!!! Seriously wishing you all the luck ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. “Squirrel projects” lol! Looks like a fun line up Lisa! And I agree with knitandkwilt…there is no such thing as cheating when it comes to quilting…however you see best to accomplish a finish you love!!!

    1. I’ve got a great plan for the sampler, which will use up a lot of stash–and give me an excuse to buy more fabric!

  5. Good luck with your finishes Lisa. I really love that store.

  6. Can you tell I’m home sick. I was supposed to right. I really love that star.

