Quilty Resolutions

As we look back on the year 2015, and look forward to the year 2016, it’s time to contemplate on works in progress.   Darn it.  I finished 3 quilts in 2015, and let me confess here just how many quilts I have in progress.  I’m going to list them in the order I hope to finish them.
Refracted quilt for my niece (twin)
Christmas Grand Illusion (2014)
Beach ball baby quilt
2014 Sugar Block Club (queen)
2014 weathervane bee quilt
2015 tic tac toe bee quilt
Glamp stitchalot quilt (king)
Original design crystal diamonds quilt
Tumbler leader and ender quilt (throw)
Rainbow quilt (queen)
Cathedral squares quilt (king)

You know it, I really need to stop starting new quilts. Over the past 6 weeks, I started another quilt following Bonnie Hunter’s mystery quilt, Allietare, and here is the reveal of the A and B blocks. I only made 10% of the piece count, and I am now planning to just round out what I need to make this 28″ square (10″ blocks are set on point), and turn it into a floor pillow. Linkup here.

Allietare quilt blocks

Allietare quilt blocks

Let’s not talk about the other items which are cut out or half-finished such as 3 pillows, 2 bags–no, three–and a zip pouch or two. Or the plaintain shirt, late lunch tunic, cargo trousers, and dress to make for myself.

While machine-less, I added some buttons.  I'll add some patchwork to make this a pillow.

While machine-less, I added some buttons. I’ll add some patchwork to make this a pillow.

free motion quilting practice

free motion quilting practice

So anyway, if you would like to help me start a new bee quilt, go here to sign up for the 2016 Canadians quilt bee.
Google form for bee sign up

7 comments

  1. Well at least you have a plan for a finish on this one. It is too much fun not to join in though!

    1. Exactly! I really wanted to try out Bonnie’s colours but in the end, even with changing the gold to aqua, I don’t like it enough to commit to a full quilt. That’s ok, a floor pillow will be a lot of fun!

      On Mon, Jan 4, 2016 at 1:14 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. Happy blocks! Love the combo..

    1. Thanks, it definitely was fun to follow along!

  3. Beautiful blocks for the MQ, such lovely colors. Your quilting on the star is stunning.

    1. I really am having fun with the star quilting, although it has literally taken me months to get that far–I keep scaring myself and leaving it for a while. And thanks for the compliment on the mystery quilt blocks, just a few more units to make and then I can put that together. I think it’s going to make a really great floor pillow, and I realized I have some blue and while flannel to back it with already in my stash.

  4. It will make a very nice floor pillow!

