All Wrapped Up

Now that it’s done and gifted, I can celebrate the completion of my Yuma quilt (free pattern from Gotham Quilts). This was my ALYOF goal for December and on my Q4 finish-a-long list.

Some of the fabrics were selected with the interests of my in-laws in mind, and it was gratifying that they noticed the bicycles and music notes immediately.

DSC_0956

For the quilting, I started with concentric circles, like ripples on a pond, but the effect wasn’t really what I wanted so I switched to straight lines, and when I got bored of that, added various free motion quilting motifs. The words “goodnight sweetheart” are from a song I used to sing to my daughter as I took her upstairs to bed.

Yuma quilt "goodnight sweetheart" is a favourite song
DSC_0957

Also linking to Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts for the last Let’s Bee Social of 2015.

alyof2015 Finish-Along

9 comments

  1. It is gorgeous!!!

  2. That’s a great looking quilt! I like the color palate and pattern.

  3. This is really gorgeous. I love the hidden words too šŸ™‚

  4. This is a great quilt pattern, your fabric colors work so well with it, nice finish!

    1. Thank you so much, it was an experiment in making a quilt all of neutrals, and I’m super pleased with how it turned out too. I don’t know if you noticed how the smaller triangles flow from dark to medium to light and back; I originally was going to go completely mixed up but they needed that small amount of order.

  5. The quilt is a real beauty! I am sure they are very pleased to have received it!!

  6. Lots to admire here – love the colours and the hidden message! Thank you for participating in the FAL, on behalf of the 2016 global FAL hosts.

  7. Absolutely gorgeous!! I love the colors and the quilting… the words are a perfect touch! Thank you for the idea. šŸ™‚

    1. Thanks, i loved how it worked out, all neutrals but definitely not bland. I am planning on adding words to my next quilt too. On Jan 17, 2016 10:13 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

