Glamp Stitchalot – Impressions

An amazing weekend, for sure.  Fantastic food at the Kensington Court Hotel (and let’s not forget the flavoured syrups and whipped cream at the coffee bar!), meeting fantastic people, and playing with lovely fabrics!

gretchen and I

With Gretchen in front of Violet Craft’s block sample

I didn’t get too much sewing done–it was cramped, and ergonomically awkward (the tables were way too high), but I enjoyed the instructions and the chance to drool over everyone else’s fabrics.

Lynn and I

Lynn and I

And most importantly, I met people in real life with whom I have been, and will continue to be, friends with on instagram, flickr, and bloggy space.

Special shout out to Lynn and Gretchen, my swap partners. Lynn was ecstatic over the ex libris train case I made, and I am finding the project bags from Gretchen to be so useful. Look, I have my hexies in this one (since my machine is still in the shop, *sad face*) next to my new Michigan beer club soda glass.

project bag back home

Other fantastic friendship memories–hot tubbing with Paula (@sassyquilter) and Alexis, watching the flying fingers of hexie makers in the lobby sofas, Leigh Ann (@ellascottage) and Nicole (@modernhandcraft), meeting Michelle (@sewdemented, who invented the Sew Together bag), and my sewing table partners Meagan (@sewgiddy) and Lauren, and most of all Nicole (@snippets101) who put up with my stress on the drive down in the dark and rainy rush hour traffic on Thursday. And of course a big thank you to Brenda, Hayley, Jason, Josh, Hayley 2, and everyone else at Pink Castle Fabrics for all their hard work organizing the weekend. If you are thinking of going, even though the 2016 glamp is sold out, get your name on the waiting list–cancellations were available right up to the week before.

I will share more pictures of my quilt in progress over the next several months. Today I’m linking up with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts for Let’s Bee Social.

3 comments

  1. Glad to hear you had such a great time meeting up with all kinds of quilty peeps, Lisa. Sounds like fun!

  2. So glad you had a good time (especially since you didn’t have your machine). Maybe you had a better time since hand sewing is a bit slower – and that made you pause and enjoy life more. Anyway – I love favors and whipped cream in my coffee too.

  3. Oh how fun! I cannot really imagine meeting fellow blogging quilters!! So happy you had such a wonderful chance 🙂

