A Pouch Finish to Give Away

Four days to Glamp Stitchalot!! But also four days until I give away this charming little train case. I bought the Crimson & Clover pattern from Sew Sweetness (Sara Lawson) a year ago, and I decided to use this swap (glampstitchaswap) to get it out and give it a try. It was difficult to find a long enough zipper, I used a separating zipper with the pulls turned around using this tutorial from my friend Sherri at Thread Riding Hood.

train case using ex libris

My partner said she likes Alison Glass and bright colours. Check, that’s an easy one and a perfect excuse for buying some yummy ex libris fabric. The pattern has a lot of layers and a construction method that is challenging but leads to a clean interior finish. However to be honest if I make this again I think I will change up the construction and use bias tape to finish inside seams.

train case inside

This is the medium size, since my partner seems to do a lot of hand work (EPP, embroidery, and the like), and I think it will be pretty useful for that.

Linking up to Purse Palooza with Sew Sweetness.

9 comments

  1. Such a beauty! Good luck on the contest!

    1. Thanks, it’s nice to use fabrics with a larger motif in a project like this. On Nov 9, 2015 4:05 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. Oh this is a beauty!!! Pouches are such a great way to put the spotlight on super fabrics!! It looks like you did a wonderful job with this!

  3. It’s beautiful! Love Ex Libris πŸ™‚ Plus it looks really big and the perfect size for sewing gear! I’m glad you were able to use the zipper tutorial. Thanks for linking to it! Can’t wait to hear about your amazing weekend πŸ™‚

    1. It’s not huge but I think a great size for a hand sewing kit or to take to a retreat. I do like how the soft & stable finishes a pouch but the bulk is challenging to work with.

  4. These two things made me snort/laugh: “glamp” stitchalot (because I’m going on a weekend retreat on Friday) and Thread Riding Hood. Very clever. As is your pouch. I bet your partner will be one happy gal. Love your fabric choices.

    1. I admire those who can come up with clever blog names and handles, but mine is just… me. Have a great time at your sewing retreat!!

      I just published a blog post about my impressions of the weekend, I hope you will come back and check it out! Glamp Stitchalot – Impressions

  5. […] shout out to Lynn and Gretchen, my swap partners. Lynn was ecstatic over the ex libris train case I made, and I am finding the project bags from Gretchen to be so useful. Look, I have my hexies in […]

  6. This is adorable! This is so useful and so pretty! Thanks for sharing the pattern name, I’ll go check it out.

