Hippopotamus Costume

It makes me so happy that I can be creative and actually make a Hallowe’en costume for my daughter. She decided she wants to be a hippopotamus–a pink one at that. I made some doodles, she concurred, and I set to work.

Pink hippopotamus costume

To be honest here, if I could have bought one, I would have. But the doodle we agreed on was a hippo face built onto a baseball cap. Now, if I had found a pink baseball cap, that would have really helped, but I ended up having to make that too. As this was essentially a prototype, I don’t really have a proper tutorial, but I did take some pictures along the way. My materials were Kona camellia pink, interfacing (medium for the hat, two layers of heavy for the brim), soft and stable for the snout, white fabric for the teeth, velcro, purchased bias tape, and two brown buttons for the eyes.

I drafted a pattern from a purchased cap. For the snout, I basted the pink fabric to the soft and stable foam interfacing then manipulated it, stitching and trimming, until I had the shape I wanted. The nostrils I attached with needle turn applique. The snout is sewn onto the front of the brim by machine, then by hand onto the cap.

pieces cut out to sew

pieces cut out to sew

sewing together the cap

sewing together the cap

attach the cap to the brim

attach the cap to the brim

cut out at the back is edged using purchased bias tape

cut out at the back is edged using purchased bias tape

4 comments

  1. Seriously the best halloween costume I have seen this year! Kudos to your daughter for a great idea and a big applause to you mom for making it happen!

    1. Thanks, I’m really glad she feels comfortable being unique and showing off her personality (she loves hippopotamus) and not being one of 20 princesses. ..
      >

  2. Wow! I am impressed.
    Have you seen Jodie Carleton’s (RicRac) cute hippo softie patterns? I made one in pink that would have been perfect with this outfit, but I gave it away at Christmas. Our family loves the song ‘I want a hippopotamus for Christmas’.

    1. Oh my gosh, that is an adorable pattern. My daughter did a project two years ago n hippopotamuses, I’m not really sure why she latched onto that animal of the ones to pick from. But she does like them a lot, we certainly got “Owen and Mzee” from the library, a true story of a baby hippo who bonded with a tortoise in an animal preserve.

