Flower Garden Paths Pillow – Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Welcome and thanks for visiting!  For the 2015 Fall Blogger’s Quilt Festival, I want to share a pillow I made this past spring.  I love the challenge of swaps, and the x-factor swap is a fun one, with much lower stress than many, because it requires that you make a pillow (cushion) cover to suit the theme, then through voting, the pillows receive scores and are sent hither and yon around the globe to their new owners.

Flower Garden Path

The theme for Spring was drunkard’s path blocks, so I dug out light-coloured floral charms from a swap and added Kona candy pink to make the units. After a pleasant evening (or at least 20 minutes) of arranging them, I selected this layout to highlight the circles. For quilting, I added some feathers, stitched in the ditch around my two circles, and some back and forth switchbacks in the solid pink finished it off. Another pink border to bring the pillow to a useful size (17.5″), and an invisible zipper, make this pillow perfect for a chaise lounge in the sun or any tween’s bedroom.

quilting detail garden paths pilllow

After voting, this pillow was sent to the far reaches of Canada, Calgary (just kidding!, it’s not a one-horse town or anything), and I received a lovely pillow all the way from Australia.

garden paths pillow detail

I am happy with how the quilting highlighted the piecing in this pillow, so I’m going to enter it in the mini quilt category at Amy’s Creative Side. Please pop over and visit some others, leave comments, and vote for your favourite quilt for the Viewer’s Choice Award.

Cheers
Lisa

7 comments

  1. Whata pretty pillow! The quilting is lovely!

  2. I love this pillow – it’s so …….pink!! I’m sure the new owner loves it too.

    1. I wanted to made something unique, and was thinking of my tween niece when I picked out the fabrics. It was a really quick sew and I definitely won’t be intimidated of curves in the future.

  3. thedelightfuldachshund · ·

    This is gorgeous!!!

    1. Thanks for stopping by to visit! I made this pillow in late March and needed something bright and spring-like.

  4. This is totally cute Lisa! I really love how you arranged the blocks! And the sweet pink is perfect for such happy little prints!

    1. I loved making this pillow, I felt very creative and just let the process flow. I used a no pin method for the curves which worked just fine. On Nov 5, 2015 10:48 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

