Making Farmer’s Wife Blocks

image

Patience

I have joined in with the oh-so-cute block making for the latest book by Lauren Hird, Farmer’s Wife 1930s.  I am using modern fabrics in a warm brights palette so I can eventually set them on a navy background.   I did join the Facebook group but I don’t use really FB for crafty stuff so I will be sharing on Flickr,  instagram,  and here.

The best thing so far is that I can use scraps to make them.   Most of the pieces fit on the 2-1/2″ strips which I save,  or even strings and crumbs.

Patience is one of the easiest blocks,  but then I jumped ahead to Hope,  piecing it using paper foundations.   What i didn’t realize is that the pieces from the CD print out in mirror image,  so my block is spinning the opposite way.

image

Hope

As a further nod to the thrifty ladies of the past, after I miscut the domino dot for the triangles I used Kona wasabi instead, and a scrap of sunprints for the centre pink square.

Sharing with the #fqs1930sfarmerswife with Angie at Gnomeangel, and Scraptastic Tuesday with Leanne at She Can Quilt.

8 comments

  1. Good for you Lisa! The blocks are fun and each one you get to choose new fabrics. I’m STILL making the original farmers wife ; )

    1. My eventual plan is a mix of these (I’m not doing all 99) with 12″ blocks from the 4×5 bee, and perhaps a centre medallion…

  2. I like the idea of a centre medallion with the blocks round. Love to see it.

  3. I like the colors you have chosen!! And… I would have never know the spinning star was backwards lol – you had me at – I paper pieced it! I am amazed at those of you who can do that!

  4. I am so tempted to join in! Great blocks – looks like you have something special – going in a different direction! Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

    1. That’s me, always trying to be a little bit different from the crowd!

  5. I’d like to do a Farmer’s Wife quilt sometime. They look like so much fun. Love the fabrics and colours you are using.

    1. The key for me is to keep it low key and just enjoy playing with the pretty fabrics rather than rushing to an artificial goal. On Oct 16, 2015 9:33 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

