Rock around the Block

Well, not exactly rocking, but I thought I should share some fun blocks I’ve been making for my bee-mates in the Canadians Quilt Bee. It’s really fun to go diving through my stash for complimentary fabrics based on the directions from the Queen Bee each month. As the Mama Bee, I picked December–which is good because I still don’t know what block I want to make.

First up, let’s look at May. M-R (Quiltmatters) asked for bright colours on a low volume background and provided a tutorial. My first 6.5″ x 12.5″ block was a little short, so on the next one I left the last section of low volume bigger and trimmed it down after sewing.

Leggings quilt block for M-R for May in the Canadians Quilt Bee.

Next, Dominique (The Running Thimble) asked for flying geese blocks and provided an inspiration photo for the colours. The centre one shown was a little scant, so I made a third.

flying geese for Dominique

Francine selected flying geese blocks as well, and sent us the green solid to use for a background. I used a lot of multicolour prints for these. I had leftover green, so I made a few extra geese although I forgot to take a picture.

July bee blocks for Francine

And most recently, Carly came up with an imaginative herringbone quilt in red-purple and complementary hues. I might be a little persnickety, because I felt mine were a little off-centre so I made another pair. Which still were a little off-centre, so I gave up and sent them all.

august for carly

And then I snuck in a block for me. Robert Kaufman was running a giveaway where we had to make this block and post it on social media, so I used my “warm brights on navy” colour palette (used for these 4×5 bee blocks) for this 10″ block. I am planning to join in on the Farmer’s Wife 1930’s quilt sew-along with GnomeAngel, and I think I’ll use this palette and eventually combine all my blocks together in a beautifully scrappy quilty hug.

Fuzzy design board and all.  10 inch block for #rhodaruthblockchallenge   Kona colours are pomegranate, wasabi, candy pink, and coral on a background of nautical.

Thanks for stopping by to visit! Linking up to Lorna for Let’s Bee Social.

5 comments

  1. Lovely blocks Lisa.

  2. Michele Timms · ·

    Great colour combos!!

  3. they are all so different–I like each in a different way. Love the coors in the last one especially

  4. Those are great! I think my favorites are the flying geese on the green, partly because I don’t think I would ever choose that green to use for anything, but it looks so fantastic with the prints!

  5. Lovely collection of blocks – I particularly like the flying geese and the herringbone.

