A back-to-school Finish

Using Noodlehead Open Wide pouch pattern

Using Noodlehead Open Wide pouch pattern

It’s nice to have a smaller project to finish. I have saved every scrap of this very pink, very glittery Frozen cameo fabric from my daughter’s quilt. I framed the sisters with some Kona berry, added the blue polka dots, and used the Noodlehead open wide pouch pattern to make this pencil case (shh, it’s a secret). The lining fabric is left over from this dress (which she still wears, although it’s getting rather short.) She’s actually starting a new Montessori school (a combined grade 1 to 4 class) because the previous school didn’t have enough enrollment for the elementary program, so I think having a nice present will help with the first day jitters. I made two minor changes, the boxed corners are only 2-1/4″ (not 3-1/2″), and I like having the zipper longer, so this is a 12″ zipper.

showing back and lining

showing back and lining


Hmm, I wonder what I should make with the rest of the scraps? This is my August finish for A Lovely Year of Finishes (goal setting post is here).

my hoard of scraps

my hoard of scraps

Linking up to ALYOF August finishes party with Melissa at Sew Bittersweet designs, Pet Project with Julie at Pink Doxies, and on the first day of school, I will add a link to Scraptastic Tuesday with Leanne at She Can Quilt.

5 comments

  1. That’s a cute idea Lisa. Looks great

  2. Looks great Lisa! I still need to whip up a new pencil case for Sammy!
    I’ve been debating the open wide pouch for one, things are just easier to find in them. I should get on it i guess!

  3. I just recently saw someone else make that bag and I love how it looks. Great framing of the girls!

    1. I love how it turned out too and my daughter was really excited when I showed it to her and we loaded it up for the first day!

  4. So very cute! Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

