The Tale of the Travelling Socks

They went to the cottage.

Sock knitting at the cottage

To swimming lessons.

socks at swimming

And for many rides in the car.

socks in the car

Ta da!

cherry swirl socks

The wool is by Fleece Artist, pattern is Cherry Swirl which was printed on the sleeve of the skein (also free on their site), purchased at Creativ Festival in Toronto.  I invented an asymmetrical toe castoff to fit my foot.  These haven’t been washed or blocked yet.

Now onto the next pair of socks, any recommendations for patterns? I liked the little slip stitch in this one, I want something not too complicated but with some interest, since my yarns are patterned a complicated pattern won’t show up. I have a few patterns already in my library at Ravelry here where I am lisainporthope (ha, what a surprise!) although I am not active in the forums.

Linking up to Finish it Up Friday with Crazy Mom Quilts (because Amanda Jean loves a good sock finish herself) and TGIFF.

8 comments

  1. Those are very pretty! Tay for a finish

  2. I like “Hermoine’s Everyday Socks”. Free pattern on Ravelry. Your socks are great.

    1. Thanks I’ll look those up! On Aug 14, 2015 2:17 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Yay! I so admire people who knit socks. They look so comfy and warm, Lisa! That detailing is so cool!

    1. The wool is incredibly soft and they are really cozy. On Aug 14, 2015 6:04 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Wow! Love these socks! Great work!!

  5. Love your socks , my knitted socks tend to travel a lot too . So far I’ve only knitted stocking stitch socks but am ready to move on!

    1. They are an awesome portable project. Also I’m less likely to drop the needle. There’s a sewing needle in the car somewhere from my last binding project… On Aug 25, 2015 2:43 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

