Finally finished – Broken Herringbone baby quilt

the centre block is a rainbow

the centre block is a rainbow

Started – September 2013

Finished – August 2015

Block tutorial at Play Crafts (I increased each block to 14″ square)

Inspired by Molli Sparkles quilt along (#msbhqal)

All over free motion quilting (a different pattern in each block) by me on my domestic Husqvarna, using a variety of threads.

46″ square finished

broken herringbone baby quilt

To celebrate finishing my oldest WIP, and my first completed Finish-A-Long goal for Q3, I’ll be linking up to TGIFF with Quokka Quilts and Can I get a Whoop Whoop Fridays at Confessions of a Fabric Addict.

the purple blockthe blue blockthe green block

tgiff buttoncigww button

26 comments

  1. Cheers. It’s adorable.

  2. A lovely finish! I really like the binding you used here, and your fmq looks wonderful!

    1. I scooped up the binding fabric from an Instagram destash realizing it would be perfect. O

  3. I do like this one! Nicely quilted . Well done

    1. I had fun with the quilting. Thanks! On Aug 7, 2015 5:43 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Congrats on finishing this WIP! It looks great and your quilting is amazing πŸ™‚

    1. It’s already gifted and I’m sure it will be loved for many years.
      >

  5. Michele T · ·

    What a great pattern!! I love the colours and the quilting is perfect!!!

    1. It was a really fun quilt to make, and the construction is surprisingly easy. On Aug 7, 2015 7:09 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. It’s beautiful – love the pattern, your fabrics and the quilting! Lovely.

    1. I’m glad you came by to visit, thank you for leaving a sweet comment.

  7. Great job on the quilting Lisa. It’s a beautiful rainbow quilt.

    1. I reassured the new owners that it is supposed to get dirty–and spit up on. Cause that’s what babies do.

  8. This is really pretty Lisa. Those blocks are a lot of work. Well done ; )

  9. Very pretty finish! I just love the quilting too.

    1. I’m really glad I went with the free motion quilting, it was great fun and not distracting at all.

  10. Pretty quilting and gorgeous quilt. I love the colors. Congrats with this finish!!!

  11. What a beautiful design! Congratulations on a gorgeous finish!

    1. The pattern looks great made with a single collection of jelly roll strips too, but I just love the rainbow effect.

  12. Oh it is beautiful Lisa! A Herringbone is on my list πŸ™‚

    1. It’s a great pattern, you’ll enjoy making it.

  13. Beautiful ! lovely colours

  14. That’s been a while in the making! Great finish – love the colours πŸ™‚

  15. […] I missed the linkup for finishes for Q3 (my sole finish was the rainbow broken herringbone baby quilt). Oh well, on to Q4. I try to keep these goals to projects that have been tying up stash yardage […]

