AMH Diamonds Mini Quilt (TGIFF)

You know how you feel you have lots of time, and you’re coasting along, having finished piecing your quilt plenty early, then all of a sudden you’re at the due date and you’re still putting the binding on? Yeah, I knew you would understand.

This was another swap (#annamariahornerminiquiltswap, on Instagram) that really inspired me, and it wasn’t too stressful, except right at the end. I have talked about my design process before, so let me show you some pretty pictures of the finished quilt. The binding is Kona in berry, it seemed to fit the best of every fabric, either printed and solid, that I auditioned. I like using a darker binding to frame the quilt.

back of AMH diamonds mini quilt

the quilting shows better on the back

amh diamonds finished quilt

For extras, since this was international to Australia, I needed to keep the weight down, so I added some fat eights and smaller scraps that I thought my partner would like, and some stickers for her daughter nicely wrapped by my daughter. At the last minute I added a spool of white Aurifil thread–I think it’s a lot more expensive there, and I know I can easily restock.

Linking up to TGIFF with Laura at Quokka Quilts, Mini Quilt Monday with Modern Cozy, and Finish it up Friday with crazy mom quilts.

4 comments

  1. What a lovely mini. And so kind to send the thread and stickers with it. And yes I know running out off time, when you had plenty.

    1. Thank you for your sweet comment. It was great fun to make. On 2015-07-04 1:34 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. That’s a beautiful little quilt! I’m sure your swap partner will be thrilled!

  3. Very cute! I love the colors.

