In My Garden

If you live in Southern Ontario or points nearby, you know that we have had lots of rain in June. I bought some Ontario strawberries at the grocery store on Thursday night, and the fruits and vegetables–and weeds–in my garden have been growing well. We have a pear tree with three different pear varieties in the front yard, which thankfully was finished flowering before our late frost in May and looks to have a good crop.

Red Bartlett pears developing

Red Bartlett pears developing

In addition to flowers in the front yard, I have snap peas, tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, and one solitary pumpkin plant. I grow most of my herbs here next to the back patio–chives, thyme, lavender, basil, oregano, rosemary, and cilantro.

Herb garden. Cilantro, oregano, basil, lavender, thyme, rosemary, chives, and even tomatoes.

Herb garden with my collection of insulators from electrical/telephone poles.

One thing I started several years ago is using cedar mulch around the plants to help keep down the weeds and aid in moisture retention. I like to put down 2-3 layers of newspaper first, which helps the cedar mulch last longer than one year. I also will move the fallen leaves from the backyard to the front in the fall to use as mulch. These photos were taken Friday night but then it rained most of the weekend, which was a great excuse to get some sewing done on my Yuma quilt. I rely heavily on plants which reseed themselves to fill in the blank spots, I also picked up another flat of petunias today (my daughter helped pick out the flowers this year, of course in her favourite colour, pink).

Tomato garden

Tomatoes along the south side of the house

The backyard pond is a great feature, although it can be frustrating when the birds come and eat our fish. We lost several of the largest koi last winter, and I think we have pond pox in the remaining goldfish, which is contagious but not fatal, so I’m debating whether to restock koi–they can be quite expensive, even when small–or wait a year.

Backyard pond June 26 2015

The steel heron is to scare away the real herons. Not sure how effective it is but it looks nice.

Thanks for coming by for a tour of my yard! (And after dark, I’ll do a little sewing 🙂 ).

2 comments

  1. Michele T · ·

    You have a beautiful yard!!!

  2. Maryanne · ·

    Wow your amazing, ever though of bed and breakfast. You could give a quilting lesson, or a gardening seminar. Your property looks very tranquil and relaxing.

