Yuma Distractions (Sunday Stash)

Well, I could be finishing up my Q2 Finish-A-long list…but hey, let’s start a new quilt instead! I saw an invitation on instagram (dangerous, very dangerous) for the Yuma Quilt-along with Gotham Quilts, their newest pattern, and immediately fell in love. Triangles, nice big ones, and different scales to add interest…I am so excited to get this quilt put together! My blog post will be up the week of July 13th, hoping to have the top–or at least most of it–finished by then.

Yuma fabrics (stash)

Although I have a generous stash, this quilt calls for three fabrics of 1 yard to 1-1/2 yard cuts (note, the pattern allowances are generous to allow for mis-cutting), and I had a vision of a quilt made of all neutrals, which I mostly have in smaller cuts, so I placed an order. Wow, super fast, even allowing for international shipping, I got my order in a week. Impatient as I was, I had started cutting the smaller pieces from my stash, so not all of this will be used in this quilt. No worries, I will use them in the next. I added the gold toned fabrics, and the touches of metallics, to make the quilt shimmer and give enough variation in the tones to be able to see the pattern.

Gotham Quilts order June 2015

From top, Cotton + Steel Netorious in Goldilocks Gold, Netorious in Silver, Anna Maria Horner Loominous Graph Cream, Art Gallery Fabrics Triangularity in Sterling and City Lights in Night, Caroline Friedlander Screen in Shadow and Sharp in black.

Oops, look what else fell into my virtual shopping cart, a fat quarter bundle of Ink Dots by Alison Glass.
Sunprints Ink Dots June 2015

Linking up to Mr. Fabulous, Molli Sparkles, for Sunday Stash.

yuma qal

5 comments

  1. I can’t wait to see your creation. I have got to get some of that AG to fall into a cart soon!

  2. Those ink dots are gorgeous, I am trying hard not to buy more fabric!

  3. I love the art gallery triangle-y fabric! I have to be very careful that that stuff doesn’t get near any of my virtual carts…

    1. It’s a nice fabric for low volume backgrounds because of the light colours. I often fill my cart then think about it over night, at which point i delete the cart and save my wallet ☺ On Jun 22, 2015 3:28 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Great fabric combinations, the quilt is going to be beautiful.

