WIP Wednesday – AMH Diamonds Mini Quilt

Leaving this quilt (which is my creation for the annamariahornerminiquiltswap on instagram) for a couple of weeks to ponder the quilting was fruitful. One day, after scrolling through the latest lovelies on my instagram feed, I had an epiphany–big stitch quilting! And it’s amazingly fast too, this only took two days of commutes to work to finish.

AMH WIP mini quilt

Next I plan some fun machine free motion quilting in the printed sections to stick down all the fabrics. I want to get an extra made too, before the shipping deadline at the end of June.

amh quilting detail 2

In case you are interested in making the same pattern, let me tell you that I used 4-1/2″ strips to cut the half-rectangles (prints) and triangles (background) pieces with the Tri-Recs ruler. It was fun sorting my Anna Maria Horner fabrics into colourways for this mini. I usually keep my fabrics in plastic boxes sorted by colour, but I have to confess I keep my AMH fabrics separate to drool over. Unfortunately the weak Canadian dollar has (mostly) curtailed my online shopping…that’s ok, I have enough fabric to keep me busy for several months years. And there is that 50% off sale at Fabricland Ontario this weekend…

I feel I am getting a little braver with my quilting, by designing my own pattern for this mini. Next swap is the #parisswap on instagram, and I have all the fabrics I need and a concept… But before that I have signed up for a blog hop with Gotham Quilts for their new quilt pattern, Yuma (yikes! me?)…do stay tuned for that.

Linking up to Let’s Bee Social with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts and WIP Wednesday with Lee at Freshly Pieced, as well as Scraptastic Tuesday with Leanne at She Can Quilt. Please visit the linky parties!

amh mini quilting detail

15 comments

  1. I DO love colored thread! Lisa, this has turned out so pretty, and I’m glad you’re going to add FMQ now. I’m not quite done with mine, but can see it from where I sit if that counts. :O

    You are the best entering us for the giveaway! I always see those things on my feed, but never get to them. Thank you for adding me as your partner. I think it would be great to meet you, too! I keep thinking there should be an informal retreat here for we who live relatively close to this part of the North American continent. (Is that inclusive enough?) Next summer maybe?

    All smiles,
    Julie

    1. I’m going to Glamp Stitchalot in November, it will be my first sewing retreat and I am looking forward to seeing on-line buddies in person. You and I think a lot alike, it would be fun to meet someday!

      On Wed, Jun 10, 2015 at 6:17 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. Very pretty! 🙂

  3. Just lovely!

  4. It’s lovely! And the big stitch quilting was perfect!

  5. Lovely to see how they all play nicely together! Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

    1. I’m getting braver at cutting up my pretty fabric. Thank you for the sweet comment.

  6. This is lovely! I love your fabrics, the patter and the hand quilting.

  7. Well you have a very lucky partner. Love it.

  8. I love Anna MarieaHorner. It’s great that you are coming up with your own patterns. That’s a goal for me as well. The hand quilting adds a nice touch as well.

  9. Beautiful!

  10. I adore this, but then again I adore AMH fabrics. Funny thing is that I keep all my AMH fabrics seperate too. I have one orange fabric from her Innocent Crush line that I put in just about everything I make, and I just can’t get tired of Garden Party, no matter how hard I might try. Lovely!

    Greetings from Germany!

  11. Pretty! I always like addition of hand quilting 🙂

  12. […] and it wasn’t too stressful, except right at the end. I have talked about my design process before, so let me show you some pretty pictures of the finished quilt. The binding is Kona in berry, it […]

