The fastest way to use up scraps

is to not even put them away. This project started with the pretty scraps left over from a bee block (tutorial for the herringbone bee block is from Bijou Lovely).

April for Sheila

wpid-20150419_164659.jpg

As I gazed at the pretty scraps, I loved the colour combination, so I started sewing them together and squaring up each section to 5″ by whatever. Hmm, now what?–I remembered the Bucket Basket Tote from Very Shannon. Oops, the centre panel is 5-3/4″. That’s okay, I’ll just make the top section slightly wider.

A dig for handle fabrics pulled up the flower dot from Flea Market Fancy (I know, it’s so 2012). What can I use for the pocket, hey here’s a nice aqua scrap from a swap package. And ta da! a lovely tote for my hand quilting projects.

inside with pocket

Finished BB tote with scrappy insert

Finished BB tote with scrappy insert

A brief commentary on the pattern–I didn’t have enough heavy interfacing, so I used fusible fleece for the outside, but I think the heavy interfacing would have given it a really nice structure. I’ll put the pocket a little lower next time, and make the straps shorter–they’re not really long enough to go over my shoulder, and for a project bag I prefer more of a handbag length. Or by adding a magnetic snap closure and an inside zippered pocket, this would make a cute purse.

Linking up to Scraptastic Tuesday with Leanne at She Can Quilt.

7 comments

  1. Very nice Lisa! Those herringbone blocks are fun to make

  2. I agree – use them up straight away if you can! What a cute bag – I love the shape! Thanks for linking to #scraptastictuesday

    1. It’s definitely worth making and you can’t go wrong with a free pattern. Wouldn’t it be a fun guild sew-in activity?

  3. Elnora Chambers · ·

    Lovely bag, and such a great way to bust some scraps!

    1. Now i think i need two or three more!

      On Sun, May 17, 2015, 5:43 AM Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  4. I swear you have the coolest stash even if it’s just your scraps.

    Julie

    1. Thanks! I do have a lot of fabric–I buy what I like, and support the industry lol. On 2015-05-24 6:34 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

