Lotus Pillow (TGIFF)

Hurray for another finish! This was the pillow I made for the Great Pillow Fight swap on Flickr, a fantastic group of ladies swapping fantastic pillows. After a false start or two, I pulled out my Hex’n’More ruler and selected fabrics to match the colours in the Koi low volume print. With my pals in the Flickr group cheering me on, I then added the green border and squared it up using a scrappy selection of low volume prints.

Lotus pillow finished

I wasn’t sure how big this would end up, but my partner said she likes big pillows, so 25″ square is great for lounging or even as a floor pillow! For the quilting, I spent an evening doodling on my tablet, using a picture of the pieced front, and devised this spiral swirly motif, based on the quilting on the original quilt by Jaybird Quilts. The original was quilted by Angela Walters — what, do I dare copy the free motion quilt diva — of course! Because finished is better than perfect, and it turned out pretty darn nice. I had to take a picture of the inside too. I used Aurifil 2600 (dove) for all the quilting, it does blend nicely.

fmq detail lotus pillow
fmq inside Lotus Pillow

I am off to the Creativ Festival in Toronto tomorrow, for lots of shopping and perhaps I will see a few bloggy friends there!

Linking up to TGIFF with Sarah at Things I Make.

12 comments

  1. Good for you Lisa. It turned out really nice

    1. Thank you for stopping by! On 2015-04-23 10:42 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

    1. Thanks for your sweet comment! On 2015-04-24 8:09 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. Beautiful quilting, well done! The cushion’s nice too!

    1. I bought a big insert for myself yesterday so now I need to make my own pillow! On 2015-04-24 9:01 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Love the quilting on this one… I always end up chickening out on pillows and doing something simple so that people aren’t examining my quilting (and finding things I don’t want them to) close up. I love what one can do with those Hex n’ More rulers and the accompanying patterns. Reminds me that I should get my butt in gear and finish my Toes in the Sand quilt!

    1. The first swirly thing wasn’t quite centered, so after that I marked a couple of dots to give me something to aim for. I was a little worried about the darker fabrics but the thread blended nicely, and after a couple of washes any little jogs will be disguised by the crinkle. On 2015-04-24 9:11 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. I really like what you did with your Hex’n’More ruler. Great design and the quilting is beautiful! Thanks for linking up with me for TGIFF. šŸ™‚

    1. The ruler is really handy to have and has been a great investment. On 2015-04-24 1:12 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. Great pillow and a wonderful job with the quilting. Have fun at the Creativ Festival.

    1. Thanks! I possibly bought too much fabric, now I need to do more quilting! On 2015-04-24 6:24 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

