Nowhere to go but up – Q2 Finish-A-Long goals

Since my Q1 projects are still around, the beginning of my list is easy–the same items as last quarter. This time I’m going to add some additional projects in the hopes I get even more done *crosses fingers* with Adrianne at On the Windy Side.

Broken Herringbone quilt
Started in 2013. I did get the backing pieced last quarter.

Rainbow Broken Herringbone

Paparazzi bag
Interfacing almost done and snaps have been applied.

Q12015 finish a long goal #2 - Paparazzi bag

Summer dress (formerly Washi dress)
I have bought a new pattern, unfortunately a few extra pounds have settled on my tummy and I’m not liking how the Washi dress pattern creates a maternity look, so I bought a dress pattern which has a definite waistband.

wpid-img_20150112_220302.jpg

    Refracted Quilt for my niece — all the 14″ squares are cut but only one set of 5 have been whacked and sewn back together

Refracted quilt blocks
Cargo Duffle using Priory Square–pieces all cut out
cargo duffle pieces april 2015

    Wool sweater

This has been in progress at least 12 years, I pull it out and knit a few inches every winter, but I’m going to take it to swimming lessons this quarter and see if I can get the last 6 inches finished up. I am using a steek for the armholes (you purl an extra stitch; when the top is done, zigzag down each side and cut a slit through to steek to make the armhole opening–rather nerve wracking to contemplate.) Pattern and wool from Philosopher’s Wool Company here in Ontario.
wool sweater april 2015

    Lose 10 pounds

(Did you read all the way to the end? lol)

Linking up to Adrianne On the Windy Side.

2015 FAL at On the Windy Side
10 comments

  1. That is a great list of fun projects. I do agree with the Washi dress, I made one and I think that it made me look about 5 months pregnant.

    1. I liked the tunic length I made initially and it’s really cool and comfortable, but I’ve picked a new pattern with waist seam so it should be more flattering. Crossing my fingers I have enough fabric now!

  2. The herringbone is just stunning. Good luck on your goals , even the last one ; )

    1. I have a friend at work who is expecting a baby so now that I have a recipient I have more motivation to get it done.

  3. Love those 12 (and 25) year old projects. šŸ™‚

  4. I read the whole thing and found it very funny, and almost went back and added the same goal to my own list! That herringbone quilt is beautiful!

    1. Sewing can be a sedentary hobby, although I find there can be a lot of standing. The process of losing weight is not so much fun, but I have thought that if I could dedicate the 5-6 hours per week that I would normally sew instead to exercise, it would be worth it.

  5. Your projects all look great. Those sweaters can be a bear to make. One error in counting early on can lead to a misshapen garment. How do I know this you ask?…… I am now exclusively a quilter, not a knitter. šŸ™‚ Hope your weather comes around so you can get outside for that exercise. Being indoor in winter makes it difficult to keep up if one is not a gym sort of person. I do find that if I sew all day, I am up and down all day and don’t stop to eat much, so for me it is less sedentary (maybe I am less organized, and have to get up to get needed items more), and it keeps me away from the kitchen! But good luck with all!

    1. I had to rip out about 5 inches on the sweater last year, I’m back to that spot and need to keep going! I’ve started knitting during my commute to work too!

  6. […] a dream it shall remain, because my ambitious Q2 list is shorter by only one […]

