April Finish Goal ALYOF

If you go back to my January ALYOF goal setting post, you’ll see that I pledged to link up at least 10 times this year. Fortunately I didn’t say I would actually finish 10 items…well, I will finish 10 items but not necessarily the ones on my list for A Lovely Year of Finishes.

March was consumed with my #rainbowminiswap quilt, and then starting of my next swap project, so the Paparazzi camera bag did not get completed. I debated setting another goal, but I really want to start using this bag, so I’m going to use it for my April goal as well. Wish me luck, I might need it.

My current status is having the fabric pieces cut out and most of the interfacing completed. For the main panels, I’m going to cut 3″ strips from various fabrics of my fat quarter bundle and then quilt them as I go to the soft and stable. You can see in the picture that I have the snaps sewn in place too. When I make bags, I like to get all the tedious sewing and lining completed first before I sew the main bag together, that way I can quickly move on to the finish. I’m going to add a cross body strap, and I was debating about the handbag straps, but I think I’ll keep them but make them fairly short.

A pile of pretty fabrics in Joel Dewberry Botanique

A pile of pretty fabrics in Joel Dewberry Botanique

Linkng up to Melissa at Sew Bittersweet Designs and with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts for Let’s Bee Social.
My Button

7 comments

  1. I do know that feeling. I finish lots, just nothing on my list ; )
    Happy stitching!

  2. Smart idea to get the tedious bits out of the way when you’re excited about starting a new project! Good luck on finishing it before the end of the month… you can do it! Just think about how lovely it will be to have a new bag to use in the new season!

    1. One steady session should get me pretty close! Hopefully on the weekend.

      On Wed, Apr 8, 2015 at 7:03 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. Good luck with your finish. This looks quite complicated.

    1. Thanks Lisa, it does have an awful lot of pieces but it’s going to be really useful.

  4. heulwenprice · ·

    That looks awesome, and really useful! Good luck with your goal! Might pick up the pattern myself – my poor camera could probably do with a nice new bag too. 🙂

    1. Thank you for your encouragement!

