Half an assignment – Camera Challenge in Port Hope

When I was in school, I was the kid who finished my assignment 3 days early, who completed every step of my science experiment, and was devastated at every mark below 90%. The camera challenge, well, not so much. My first issue was getting the time, during the daytime, to set up and photograph my items. And second was actually re-reading Katy’s instructions beforehand lol.So anyway, here is how far I got, and I completely neglected setting ISO so the photos were a tad dark and I had to tweak them in the editing software.

The first shot is what came up as default when I switch to Aperture mode, f8. The actual depth of field, from the front to the back spool, was about 12″ (30 cm).

Aperture f8

Aperture f8

Next I chose f5–nice artsy blur to either side. I’m not sure how low I could go (see above about not reading the directions).

aperture f5 camera challenge

aperture f5 camera challenge

Finally back to the other side, at f20.  Still not completely in focus, but closer.

aperture f20 for rainbow threads

aperture f20 for rainbow threads

My thoughts — I like having the control of the aperture, and now that I know more about setting I will practice some more. With the shot below of my #rainbowswapmini, I wish I had set the aperture so that the entire mini was more in focus, although the blur is charming it wasn’t quite what I wanted. But when I look back through other shots, for instance this shot of my Christmas cross stitch has the background blurred nicely.

Drawn Together star from "Little Quilts" by Sarah Fielke and Amy Lobsiger

Drawn Together star from “Little Quilts” by Sarah Fielke and Amy Lobsiger

merry christmas cross stitch

Linking up to the Camera Challenge Part 2 with Katy at The Littlest Thistle.

One comment

  1. thelittlestthistle · ·

    It’s all about trial and error at first, and practicing with the things you like to take photos of. It looks like you’re getting to grips with how it works anyway, so I’m sure you’ll have it cracked in no time, it just takes a wee while to remember all the different things to set (heck, I still have to remind myself to do certain things, and I’ve been at this for years!)

    One thing you might want to think about is that if you focus quite a long way into the photo in terms of distance from the lens, items that are much closer will struggle to get fully in focus. The rough rule of focussing 1/3 way in would give it a better chance, so in your mini, focussing around the point where the yellow and orange triangles meet would have been a good starting point, with an aperture around 16 if you wanted everything in focus (although the current blur isn’t displeasing)

