A little sewing going on…

What have I been working on? Hmm, where does the time go? I mentioned in my last post that I had started a temporary supervisor position — and it certainly would be less challenging if I still wasn’t trying to finish up work from my regular position. So having just spent the last hour – at home – finishing up work tasks that needed.to.get.done, I am looking forward to a week at the cottage. It is March Break, so we were pleased to get the cottage (it’s a fractional ownership / timeshare deal) in the selection lottery.

I did finish up March’s blocks for the other Lisa in the Canadians Quilt Bee. These were just too much fun. The original tutorial is based off of a Japanese quilt, which definitely influenced my fabric choices. And the 2 inch pieces were a great opportunity to dig through my string scraps (for me, anything less than 2-1/2″ is a string). And a hint, for the “x” pieces you can use a 3-1/4″ (or bigger) strip cut to the correct lozenge shape, if you don’t have charm squares lying around.

X and plus blocks for incorgiable2 for March in the Canadians Quilt Bee.

And I completed the mini quilt piecing for the #rainbowminiswap on instagram with a simple Kona coal border, and have basted it to have some pleasant hand quilting evenings at the cottage. I just feel that the piecing is so clean and bright, I don’t want to mess it up with imperfect free-motion quilting, so I will take the extra time to hand quilt it.

Drawn Together star from "Little Quilts" by Sarah Fielke and Amy Lobsiger

Drawn Together star from “Little Quilts” by Sarah Fielke and Amy Lobsiger

No pictures, but I sewed knee patches onto my daughter’s uniform pants. *gasp* Like asking Van Gogh to paint the bathroom, I know. I can highly recommend Pellon wonder-under fusible, however don’t forget to take the paper off before fusing (or at least attempting to fuse) the patch to the pants. Maybe I’ll get around to applique some day before I use it all up making knee patches.

I’m going to link up to Scraptastic Tuesday with Leanne at She Can Quilt for my scrap busting bee blocks and to the Pet Project linkup at Pink Doxies. See you there!
scraptastic tuesday

10 comments

  1. Great looking projects Lisa

  2. Hand quilting will look good. I like to do all those color changes on hand quilting more than machine!

  3. Those bee blocks are fab and I love the mini too – what a lucky partner you have! Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

    1. I love the variety of blocks I get to make with bees, and being able to make them with scraps is even better!

      On Sat, Mar 14, 2015 at 4:57 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  4. Looks like some fun sewing! Your rainbow mini is wonderful! I love the pic with all the pretty threads! Have a nice time away πŸ™‚

    1. I am leaving shortly and looking forward to my evening stitching! (with a glass of wine, of course)

  5. your bee blocks are so pretty Lisa, and the mini quilt is a stunner πŸ™‚

    1. I need to replicate the mini for myself, I’m thinking with the background rainbow and the star points in a solid next time.

  6. Love the mini quilt, so happy! I chuckled when you likened the knee patch duty to VG painting the bathroom; I cringe when my husband hands me more shorts to patch or sew a seam or pocket, ugh. But he does lots for moi, so I do it…eventually, lol!

    1. I was being rather tongue-in-cheek, I do enjoy any sewing time, but navy trousers are definitely a lot less colourful than my usual fabrics! On 2015-03-15 12:24 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

