A Dress Diversion

My daughter is 5 now, and getting taller every time I turn around. So what can a mom with a healthy stash do except make a new dress? I had printed out the Norah dress pattern a few weeks before, so I showed her some options which I had in my stash and she picked the blue floral from Honey Honey by Kate Spain. Together with the coordinates, I had purchased this almost 2 years ago with the benefit of a $25 gift certificate from Knotted Thread (when she was still in Hawaii, at that).

No progress photos, because I was sewing madly to get the dress done before the violin concert (with the other local Suzuki method students) on February 22. She was able to help tape the pattern pieces together and closely supervised cutting the fabric, requesting “pockets I can put my hands in”. (That is, not pockets that are too small or at the bottom of the skirt like the Sally dress I made last year.) The kangaroo pocket is perfect, the side pockets ended up a bit low.

instagram pic

The collar is cut on the bias, which looked a little odd with the directional fabric but I’m probably the only one who would notice. I did use a tricot (knit substrate) interfacing, it’s the first time I have used it and it gives a really nice drape and feel. I find quilting cotton can wash rather crunchy/wrinkled, so the interfacing is to help the collar keep its shape.

The dress is a size 6 with a size 8 length–I like longer dresses on older girls, although toddlers do look adorable in short skirts–and the skirt is full enough for her to sit comfortably and modestly (although if it’s up to me she will always wear shorts or leggings underneath).

norah dress back

norah dress front

Linking to Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts for a #sewmystash2015 finish!

8 comments

    1. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  1. That picture of your sweet girl with her violin tucked under her chin is precious. As is the dress! I miss sewing for my kids now that they are older. How fun!

    1. This is a fabulous pattern and I think we’ll get a lot of wear out of this dress in the summer. I know think that my mom must have been super happy when I got interested in sewing at the age of 11 and we could sew together.

  2. It’s so nice to sew for them while they’re little. Soon she will grow out of wanting sweet dresses, and just want tees and jeans. It’s a sad time.

    Your dress is cute, and I’m so glad when I hear little things people do or use that work. Thank you for the interfacing tip.

    Julie

    1. Perhaps I can make some cute tee-shirts then…

  3. Awww! So great! I love the photo of her with the violin. I’ve really got to make one of these dresses I’m pretty sure I’ve got the pattern from a bundle a while ago.

    1. Oh, you should it’s a great basic wardrobe builder. I like having the fully lined bodice and there are some great ideas for customizing the look on her blog. I did have to press the collar after I washed it. On 2015-03-09 10:19 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

