A Frozen Finish

Here it is, the fastest quilt I have ever made!

frozen quilt with quilt holder

I love playing with the pretty fabrics, but this happy kid is totally worth the simplicity of a fabric panel.

I had stopped into my local fabric shop, The Stitch Witch, the weekend before Christmas for a quick browse. And my daughter went straight to the bolt of Frozen fabric. I had been briefly looking for this fabric a few weeks previously, and had given up, but when it was right there in front of us, how could I say no?

lopsided corner snowflake

I purchased a yard of the matching pink cameo print for borders, but calculating in my head didn’t work so well and I would have had to piece the borders. So instead I grabbed some Kona Bahama Blue and created the cornerstones, framing cameos of the sisters in each corner. For the backing, I had this beautiful flannel polka dot (its a Robert Kaufman print). And with the help of my daughter, a recent dark blue polka dot purchase from Pink Castle Fabrics was the perfect finishing touch. Some people love stripes to bind, but I think I’m now a polka dots fan.

frozen quilt back

For quilting, I used my free motion foot to outline each of the girls, parts of Anna’s cloak, and some of the background features such as the trees, using whatever thread I had which matched best. I added a little bit of stitching on the sparkles on Elsa’s dress too. I had seen this panel done with a meander, but I could just imagine the flak I would get from a certain short person for stitching over Elsa’s face (and she still wasn’t 100% happy with the outlining). The batting is Warm and White, being what I had on hand, which can be stitched up to 10 inches apart. (Full disclosure, I prewashed the backing but nothing else, and it hasn’t been washed yet to see the crinkle result).

frozen quilt threads used

I then had some fun with loops and hearts in each of the borders, the dark and light pink which are part of the panel, and the cameo print. I added a snowflake in each corner of the pink border, not all as lopsided as the one above. For the cornerstones I just stitched in the ditch. The quilt finished about 46 by 55 inches.

loops and hearts

Linking up to Laura at Quokka Quilts for TGIFF and Crazy Mom Quilts for Finish it up Friday.

tgiff button

13 comments

  1. You the best!

    1. Glad you agree! On 2015-02-06 1:41 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. I agree… one simply can’t stitch over Elsa’s face! 🙂 Love the snowflake quilting. Thanks for linking up with TGIFF!

    1. I even went around the faces in the border. On 2015-02-06 7:48 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. HI Lisa: I’m glad you could have fun with frozen especially the quilting, and I’m glad you could make your daughter so happy!

  4. I forgot to say, I love the polka dots too.

    1. Polka dots go with everything! On 2015-02-06 10:26 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. Stitch over her face???? no!!!!! well done its a great quilt 🙂 http://www.crazyforpurple.com

    1. Thanks for stopping by! On 2015-02-06 4:18 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. Great finish and I bet someone is super happy with it too!

    1. She has had it on her bed ever since the quilting was done, and I kept stealing it to do the binding. On 2015-02-06 6:05 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  7. My son’s 17 in a few weeks so (luckily for me!) I haven’t seen Frozen! I love your snowflakes in the borders – and it’s always a great feeling to make your child a happy bunny!

  8. I love the alternating loops and hearts. What a sweet momma you are.

