Focus – Q1 Finish-A-Long goals

If I had a word for the year, it would be focus. To focus on one project at a time. To focus on my daughter detailing her school activities without bouncing up every 5 seconds to get something out of the fridge or another fork. Sigh. Why is it so difficult?

So for my goals for Q1 of the Finish-A-Long with Adrianne at On the Windy Side, I’ve decided to pick just 3 projects–1 quilt, 1 smaller item, and 1 garment. Things that if I don’t make this commitment, I know won’t get done.

Broken Herringbone quilt
Started in 2013. I want to do a pieced back, I need to piece together two pieces of batting, and I want to stitch in the ditch. I’m hesitating because the quilting will be b-o-r-i-n-g, but I think it will look the nicest. Hmm, unless I do a big spiral, that might be slightly more interesting, but will it work with all the colours? What do you think?

Rainbow Broken Herringbone

Paparazzi bag
I did get the pieces cut out, this should take me about a week to sew up. The main front and back panel are going to be pieced from strips.

Q12015 finish a long goal #2 - Paparazzi bag

Washi dress for summer
I *never* wear skirts and dresses, but it would be nice to have one for really hot weather (we seem to get a few days every summer where it is 33 degrees C or more and high humidity, but the advantage of Port Hope is that Lake Ontario stays cooler and provides a moderating breeze). I bought this fabric one-and-a-half years ago at a fall sale, it is a voile so I’m looking forward to working with it the finished effect. It should go relatively well since I have experience with the full bust adjustment on the tunic I made previously.

wpid-img_20150112_220302.jpg

4 comments

  1. Love that quilt. Not sure about the spiral quilting. I have loved it every time I see it tho ; )

  2. Maybe you could do something kind of starbursty or something for the quilting on the herringbone quilt? I don’t know… I like the idea of something radiating out, but the thought of concentric circles just… well, it seems like so much work!

    1. (Ugh, or a spiral, I mean. I don’t know where my brain pulled up concentric circles. Anyway, either way… I’ve been working on a spiraled out hexagon and all I can say is I did it in too tight… I’d have been so much smarter to start on a large scale because it is te.di.ous.)

    2. Interesting idea…I should spend some time seeing what other people did. On 2015-01-14 6:17 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

