Grand Illusion Check-in

I am not wracking my brain trying to figure out how these will fit together (ok, maybe just a little). I enjoyed Quiltcam yesterday with Bonnie Hunter and finished up step 4, so here I am with steps 1, 4, and 5 all done, and the rest, well, not. They will get done eventually, I know.

december 29 status

I have been having some troubles this month with a touch of carpal tunnel inflammation in my wrists. I use an ergonomic mouse at work, and an ergonomic thumbrest on my clarinet, but so many of my crafting activities cause flare-ups as well. And over the last couple of days, a little drywall mudding to fix some cracks in the addition we had put up 10 years ago. If you insist, here is a picture. Let’s just say that while I can make it work, I am glad I don’t need to do this for a living.

drywall mudding

I use ice when they bother me a lot, and I generally find that machine piecing and quilting is ok, but I am moving towards machine binding because the hand binding also seems to be at just the wrong angle. If you have any suggestions, I would be glad to hear them!

I am also working on the cross-stitch for the Tammy 4 All Seasons hop, coming up January 9-20. I haven’t done cross-stitch for a lot of years, but with Christmas decorations up, you get a chance to see one of the first ones I ever made. Cute, isn’t it?

There is one mistake...

There is one mistake…

Thanks for stopping by to visit. Linking up to Quiltville Monday linkup with Bonnie Hunter.

10 comments

  1. I am absolutely in love with your colors. Remember it is a journey, not a race but hope to see yours complete soon!

    1. oh, you are so right, I am enjoying the journey and eager to see how my colour choices will work out with this mystery pattern! I am hoping she posts a bonus clue on New Years Eve too…

  2. Your blocks look great. Steps 2 and 3 do take a while. Don’t feel too bad, I think a number of us are a bit behind on those 2 clues.

  3. I love your fabrics and deep colors, your quilt will be very pretty! Cute cross stitch.

    1. Thanks Lisa, it was fun to follow along with Bonnie and I need to get the top pieced before I can clean up lol. On 2015-01-02 12:33 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Saw the reveal yesterday. It looks cool. I am only finished step 1 so I have a lot more to do. I think it might be easier this way. I can cut up ALL the fabric at once. My least favorite part. I hope to see your quilt when you finish! πŸ™‚

    1. I got one block finished yesterday but I have a lot of the diamond units to make before I can finish. On 2015-01-02 8:59 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. Hey there Lisa, I think that we are together with the Grand Illision. I just finished step 5 and step one is done, and have decided to prepare 3… Very curious. Some of two is done but will go back to it because it is finicky. I am having trouble with my wrists too; not sure what that is about…too much Gran Illusion πŸ˜‰

    1. I love how mine has turned out and am looking forward to the finished product, as odd as it now feels to be sewing Christmas fabrics in January [?]

  6. I love watching a mystery quilt develop. I had to work hard to resist joining this one, but I’m really enjoying watching everyone’s quilts come together. Great progress here!

