Be Awesome

As I was finishing this quilt, I remembered an inspirational story I heard recently. The gist was that we all can choose how to go through each day, and that we can choose to be awesome. My nephew recently had some surgery, so I wanted this quilt to tell him that I consider him to be an awesome young man.

"Awesome" quilt finish

After completing the organic straight lines, I didn’t like the finish through the top and bottom sashing of Kona Ash, so I went back and added the square stipple, then freehand wrote the word AWESOME and filled in each letter.

In case he needs a reminder...

After washing, the quilt crinkled nicely. My mother- and father-in-law were enlisted as quilt holders, and I think he’ll like it.

Finished size – 75″ (190 cm) square
Quilted by me on my Husqvarna Platinum with Aurifil in light aqua.
Batting is Warm and Natural.

Blocks from Virtual Quilting Bee with Amy at Diary of a Quilter

Linking to Quiltville’s Christmas quilt linky, and Let’s Bee Social at Sew Fresh Quilts, and to TGIFF also with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts (it’s a double-header!).

4 comments

  1. Congratulations on an incredible finish! Wow, Lisa! This is such a beautiful finish. Love the quilting! Your nephew will be so happy to receive this beautiful quilt!

  2. wonderful gift, in so many ways.

    1. Thank you for stopping by to visit! On 2014-12-26 3:05 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Wow, this is beautiful, and such an encouraging message – I’m sure your nephew will get a real boost from this quilt.

