Merry Christmas to us (Sunday Stash)

I had some happy mail this week, courtesy of Casey York from The Studiolo, and the blog hop for Casey’s new book, Modern Applique Illusions. I was a total fangirl, commenting on one post how it was her quilt “Onwards” for the Modern Quilt Guild challenge in 2012 which interested me in joining the MQG in the first place. (Although I’m sure that had nothing to do with receiving this prize.) I received a huge scrap package from the making of the quilts, and a copy of the book (which is wrapped and under the tree, as my daughter informed me that I had to wait for Christmas to read it).

Sunday Stash courtesy of Casey York

Here are a few of my favourite pieces. (And if you’re my IG #rainbowminiswap partner, look closely, some of these may be coming your way :), go #rainbowteamyellow!).

favourites from scrap pack

And my lovely daughter graciously allowed me to go to the fabric store (The Stitch Witch in Cobourg) on Saturday, which led to the purchase of this.

Oh yes, someone is very happy today.

And enough fabric for some borders. I have some pink flannel in my stash which is hopefully enough for the backing, since she wants it to be very cuddle-able.

Have a wonderful week, I have the in-laws here but hope to get some sewing done nevertheless. And Christmas dinner will be pulled pork again (so good and so easy), everything I need is in the freezer or the pantry, so the hardest task I have between now and then is remembering where I hid the rest of the presents.

Linking up to Molli Sparkles for Sunday Stash.

12 comments

  1. Hmmmm I really like the piece with the postage marks ; )

    1. You have great taste, Carla! On Dec 21, 2014 8:20 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. Parcels of new fabric always make us happy. I bet you can’t wait to curl up with your book šŸ™‚ Happy Christmas! Avis x

    1. I’m really pleased to be getting a bigger variety to my stash, I need to get away from having yardage šŸ™‚

  3. Oh my goodness, my daughter’s would squeal if they saw that fabric panel. Hope you have a lovely Christmas šŸ™‚

    1. She was helping me to sew by following a line i drew for the seam, she’s pretty excited about it!

  4. I bought the same Frozen panel for my 4 year old. I am looking forward to seeing how you quilt it.

    1. I think I’ll outline some of the features in the panel, and I’d like to do snowflakes in the solid border. I’m going to keep the quilting fairly open. On Dec 22, 2014 9:05 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. Fabric and happiness. What a beautiful post. Merry Christmas to you and yours, Lisa. See you in 2015!

    1. Wishing you a wonderful Christmas too! I’ll definitely be sewing through the holidays…

  6. Oh, I see the makings of some fun projects with your newest stash additions, Lisa. I too, am crushing on that postage mark fabric. Look forward to seeing what you will make with it.

    Wishing you a Merry Christmas!

    1. I’m looking forward to them too!

