Grand Illusion lack of Progress

Clue #3 was posted on Friday, and through diligent effort yesterday I completed…cutting my strips. As you can see, it was tough work. I’m using dark blue instead of Bonnie’s green, and dark green instead of black.

I used up most of my Christmas neutrals in step 2.

I used up most of my Christmas neutrals in step 2.

Under the strips is the reason for my lack of progress–the backing of my nephews quilt (see the top here). I am doing organic straight lines, and after fighting with my walking foot for an entire evening, have switched to using my free-motion foot (I call it my hopping foot) which just increases the organic-ness *smile*.

Lots of other distractions, of course, at this time of year, holiday concerts (two last week, two this week), a little shopping, and a little baking. I brought these Magic Cookie Bars on Friday to a sew-cial get-together to rave reviews, so I thought I should share the recipe here. It can also be found on the Eagle Brand site, but it is slightly different. I wrote this out from one of my mom’s recipes back when I moved out on my own for the first time. I’ll warn you that it is easy to get this overly brown. I prefer to use almonds for the nuts.

1-1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 can Sweetened Condensed Milk
1 cup chocolate chips
1-1/3 cups shredded unsweetened coconut
1 cup chopped nuts

As the oven is preheating, place your 13×9 pan in the oven with the butter to melt. Remove and add graham cracker crumbs, mixing well, then press into place on the bottom with a fork. Add chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts, then pour sweetened condensed milk over all. Cook at 350 F for 25 to 30 minutes. Like most cookies, this freezes well.

By the way, did you see the letter “K” outlined in the bottom of the first photo? Stay tuned for a TGIFF on this quilt–Boxing day, if I don’t get it done this week–and I’ll tell you why.

Linking up to Quiltville and Sew Fresh Quilts.

11 comments

  1. Well, it’s a start!

  2. I like your colors for the Grand Illusion. It will be wonderful . It is such a busy time of year, nice to have something to look forward to on Fridays.

    1. I love using blue ornaments on my Christmas tree too. On 2014-12-15 5:07 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. At least these units won’t take too long to make once you get some time.

    1. Yes, then I’ll go back to clue #2 lol. Thanks for stopping by to visit! On 2014-12-15 7:05 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Nice strips…. And your quilt top finish? Incredible! Love the addition of those borders. So gorgeous!

    1. I think it looks great too! I didn’t have a specific pattern to follow, but the centre was so busy it needed the solid to frame it, and you just wait to see the quilting! On Dec 17, 2014 5:35 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. Hi! I like your colours! For the recipe, I have used red and green M&Ms instead of chocolate chips! Really adds festive colour! Just thought, Would be good with pink and white ones too!
    Take care, Leslie

    1. Sounds yummy! Maybe next year I’ll try that. On Dec 17, 2014 9:21 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. It is busy at this tine of year Lisa! I am not too far on my Grand Illusion but I am enjoying it. That sugar concoction sure looks good, thanks for sharing.

    1. I think i was short on the blue strips. .. more cutting tonight for clue#4! On Dec 19, 2014 7:27 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

