Even small finishes count

I don’t think I would sew this much if it weren’t for the online Community. Yes, capital C. It’s a big gang of girl- (and a few guy-) friends I hang out with on a regular basis. Some are more into modern quilting, others more traditional, some dabble in many crafts, others are more focused. We comment on instagram and flickr photos, and hop around in search of the best giveaways.

I recently discovered Brandy Lynn’s podcasts, Canadian Quilt Talk, and through her blog Explore Fibre I signed up for a postcard swap. Now, I have never made fabric postcards before, but with fabric, glue, thread, and some heavyweight interfacing, in an evening I had this:

Snowflake postcard

Snowflake postcard

On the back I wrote:

As the snow falls softly, I hear the dulcet tones of a band playing “Silent Night”. Merry Christmas. A wish for the peace of this season to stay in your heart all year.

I free motion appliqued the fabric pieces in place, then hand stitched a few additional snowflakes onto the background fabric.

This is another new technique that I just jumped in to try, enjoyed the process, and didn’t worry about perfection. Brandy Lynn will be putting all the postcards on a new Pinterest page on December 25. And since a postcard is something you write on, I’m also going to go ahead and link this to Le Challenge #18 for the “Ink” challenge this month.

While you’re here, let me show you the modern trees block I made for M-R (Quilt Matters) for December in the Canadians Quilt {Bee}. I made this improv style, which always seems to take longer than I think it should. With a few changes to membership, we are continuing on for 2015, so there will be more bee blocks to see.

Modern Christmas trees

Modern Christmas trees

Linking to TGIFF with M-R at Quilt Matters, and to Le Challenge.

 photo LeChalleng
15 comments

  1. Aw, I love your postcard, Lisa! Now I’m wishing I had signed up for the swap. And you know I love that block too. I can’t wait to add it to the others. Thanks for linking up to TGIFF!

    1. I’m really happy with how it turned out, and it was tempting to keep it šŸ™‚

  2. I love your post card! I think that would be such fun.

    1. The theme was “snowflakes”, and this was the image that came to mind.

      On Thu, Dec 11, 2014 at 10:13 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. Your postcard is great! Looks like it was a lot of fun to make. And your triangle are pretty too! Great job on both of these projects!

    1. Variety is the spice of life, thanks for stopping by! On 2014-12-13 6:57 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. How nice! Seriously, this is the best mini vignette I’ve seen in a while in terms of “coolness”. šŸ˜€

    1. Thank you, and a Merry Christmas to you too. On 2014-12-13 7:37 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  5. Great postcard – looks quite fiddly but is very effective šŸ™‚

    1. It would have been even faster to make if i had skipped the fusible web and went straight to the glue stick. And using my free motion foot for the applique was pretty fast too. I may try a couple of Christmas cards using this technique! On Dec 15, 2014 7:50 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. your fabric postcard is brilliant. Love the sentiment on the back too

    1. It was great fun to make! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. On Dec 15, 2014 8:39 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  7. Great postcard and fun way to tie in the theme! Thanks for linking up to le challenge šŸ™‚ I love the blocks M-R chose, yours look brilliant!

    1. I love making bee blocks and trying new techniques. On Dec 16, 2014 3:22 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  8. Great postcard, thanks for linking to le challenge!

