Step two, what have I gotten myself into?

Another Friday, another Grand Illusion mystery clue with Bonnie Hunter. Yikes, I have never made anything like this before. But I got out the starch and the iron, cut strips, made the little diamonds, cut out the triangles, and, what do you know, it’s the right size!

zig zag unit

This week, I just wanted to make sure I got everything cut out. I still have 20 or so 4-patches to make from last week. The gilded rose neutral from Priory Square is looking awesome with my Christmas prints; as you can see, I added various non-Christmas fabrics in matching colours. To embrace the scrappiness, I’m trying to use at least 4 prints in every colour family in the quilt.
two parts ready

4 patches

I’m somewhat ruthless with my scraps–if it can be cut into 2.5″ strips or squares, I do it and add to this bag. Narrower strips at least 4″ long go into a similar bag of strips. Anything smaller either goes in the garbage or into a bucket for my daughter to sew with. So far, all the pieces for the mystery can be cut from 2.5″ strips, so this is working well for me. Even if I need a smaller width piece, if I have to cut a width-of-fabric strip, I make it 2.5″, then cut off what I need and trim to width, so the rest of the strip meets my usability criteria.

2.5 inch pieces

2.5 inch pieces

Linking up to Quiltville and to Scraptastic Tuesday with Leanne at She Can Quilt.

scraptastic Tuesdayquiltville grand illusion

15 comments

  1. Cheers on the measurement! That is always a challenge for me when I am not sewing squares.

    1. I noticed with step 1 that if I got tired, my squares started to get wonky. So if I take my time and concentrate, hopefully these diamond rectangles will continue to turn out this nicely. The only question, of course, is will I continue to get farther and farther behind?

  2. Thanks for sharing. Love your colours. Christmas!!!! great idea!

    Wendy, Alliston , Ontario

  3. Josie McRazie · ·

    I love your Christmasy choices!!! I have to say I LOVED her template this year! Last year when we did chevrons there was a LOT of waste! I’m not a fan of that! ;0)

    1. I did not want to manage and store a million bonus triangles, so i hope my diamonds continue to work out. I am hoping to eliminate my Christmas stash too. On Dec 8, 2014 7:47 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Looks great! I am still on step one. 😦

  5. Love your Christmas print blocks!

    This was a challenging shape to make, so it’s great when you get it right, isn’t it?

  6. It is going to be beautiful. One step at a time we got this!

    1. I hope to at least keep up with the cutting…maybe I can call in sick one day… On 2014-12-08 5:59 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  7. Yay! for your 1st Bonnie Mystery! Looking lovely with all your beautiful scraps..
    Debra in Ma.

    1. Actually I did make Easy Street but it didn’t have these diamonds. I hope to get some sewing done on Thursday on these before the next clue comes out. On 2014-12-09 5:34 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  8. Well done on making the size – I still find that a challenge! Bonnie will have you using up all your scraps! Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

    1. I have a hard cutting into useful yardage, scraps are definitely more fun. On Dec 9, 2014 8:35 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  9. It’s fun to try something new isn’t it, even if it’s a bit overwhelming.

    1. And I’m really loving playing with my Christmas fabrics too. Hmm, I should try to find my copy of the Grinch to play while sewing…

      On Wed, Dec 10, 2014 at 7:29 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

