Little Quilts Swap TGIFF

Swaps are fun, they push me to try something new when sewing and do my absolute best work in order to be comfortable sending off my creation. Sarah Fielke and Amy Lobsiger hosted the #littlequiltsswap this fall, mostly on instagram, and the only requirement was that the mini quilt be made from one of the patterns in their book, Little Quilts.

little quilts first start

My partner was Katie, who requested something both vintage and modern. So since she lives in California, I thought it was a good opportunity for me to make a red, white, and blue quilt. It turned out super cute, although not quite square after all the y-seams, but I wrestled it into submission. I used white thread to outline the 4 feature hexagons and stitched a meander with fat little daisy flowers in the rest of the quilt.

I made corner pockets using 3.5″ squares of fabric, I did all 4 corners because it allows you to put a dowel at the bottom to weigh the quilt down so it sits flat against the wall. And I made a label using the embroidery stitches on my machine (super fast!).

little quilts swap back

Of course extras are optional, but I wanted to send something a little Canadian, so I found this cute chocolate bar to slip in. In terms of sewing related extras, Katie owns a quilt shop, so I could hardly send fabric, but I thought that a little pouch using the Noodlehead open wide pouch tutorial would be nice, using extra half hexagons for one side and the zipper tab.

little quilts swap all finished

All in all, I had great fun making this and was pleased to send it off, and Katie loves it! Now I just have to wait for mine to arrive…

Linking up to TGIFF with Laura at Quokka Quilts and Needle and Thread Thursday with My Quilt Infatuation.

Needle and Thread Thursday

10 comments

  1. That is very cute Lisa! 🙂

  2. Great pattern – I love the random look that it has. Cute!

  3. Beautiful! I love the colors and the design

  4. You nailed it Lisa, love this patchwork:-)
    It is both vintage &modern. I had not thought to add pockets to all four corners, this is a good tip for larger hangings especially, thanks!

  5. Lovely! I have never joined in with a ‘swap’ , but could see how it is a good way to really fine tune skills & make something “perfect” for your recipient. Linda

  6. So cute! I’ve been wondering about that book and seeing your quilt makes me want to get it even more.

  7. What a cute set!

    1. I find the “extras” part of swaps challenging–so adding a handmade item is a nice way of including an extra without spending a lot of money

      :

      >

  8. lovely mini, I love the pattern

    1. Thank you, it was hard to send it away!

      On Wed, May 13, 2015 at 11:41 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

