Commitments done, now for fun!

I love being inspired by quilt-alongs, swaps, bees, etc. but I was a tad over-ambitious for November. But thankfully (Happy Thanksgiving to my U.S. friends, by the way!), I have them all done and can look forward to what I need to accomplish before the in-laws arrive on December 21 (wait, December already?).

Of course I’ve been busy throughout the year with the Canadians Quilt {bee}, and for November Dominique (The Running Thimble) asked for sewing machine blocks to make a wall-hanging. We had the option to choose pieced or applique, and I remembered that the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Volume 8 had a vintage sewing machine applique, so I tried that. I actually got the fusible web to work, and selected retro red daisies against an aqua polka-dot background (because polka-dots make everything better) for Dominique’s colour scheme. I’m so glad I tried it–following instructions from one of my Craftsy classes–because after that I dove right into my postcard for the Holiday postcard exchange through Explore Fibre (I’ll show this in a later post, it’s not quite finished yet and the one photo I have is out of focus).

November for Dominique with buttons

Other finishes
-mini quilt for #littlequiltsswap hosted by Amy Lobsiger and Sarah Fielke (lots of photos in my instagram feed, I’m going to do a full post after my partner receives it in case she reads my blog).
-colourblock placemats practising my free-motion quilting. I tried a feathered heart on each one, and definitely I could see the improvement, but I need more practice. The binding is Metro Living in pewter from Robert Kaufman, cut on the bias, and I love the X and O’s that appear. And Yay! for another one of my Q4 FAL goals done.
pink placemat

The table belonged to my Nana, it is at least 65 years old and quarter-sawn oak. Probably irreplaceable. I refinished the top this summer and the placemats have curved corners to make them sit better and be more useful to protect the table.

placemats at home

-bee blocks for Modern 4×5 bee on flickr. This was fun to do some paper piecing and play with my stash fabrics to make blocks in each member’s colour scheme.

4x5 bee blocks November 2014

And my fun things coming up?
-mystery quilt with Bonnie Hunter – I’m using Christmas fabrics and colours
-quilt my nephew’s quilt (I basted it today)
-cross-stitch for Tammy blog hop in January.

Linking up to TGIFF with Kim at Persimmon Dreams.

One comment

  1. Love the placemats in different colors. And the fabric for the vintage sewing machine is perfect–great little machine applique. I’ll be practicing FMQ on placemats tomorrow after I recover from feasting.

