Hopping around Canada {+giveaway}

Welcome to hoppers from Blogathon Canada organized by Sew Sisters! I wanted to show you a little of what I’ve been working on and while, I was at it, I was musing about what style of quilter/sewer I am. Recently I have noted that I rarely follow a pattern exactly–it’s definitely much easier than making my own pattern, but I like to add my own spin, whether it’s adding a zipper pocket to my Forest Glen Satchel bag, or mixing and matching fabrics for a sampler quilt.

I mostly learned to sew from my mom, and through Home Ec at school (I think it’s sad that kids don’t learn how to sew anymore, not even how to hem a pair of pants or sew on a button). So garment sewing is where I started. When I was expecting my daughter, I decided to finish off a quilt top I had inherited. And then it started, I fell head over heels in love with quilting and especially modern fabrics. I’m still a bit of a traditionalist though and I love classic blocks. You will also see garments for my daughter and the occasional knitting project popping up in my photo feed.

I am really inspired by the online community (that would be YOU!) and have joined a number of swaps and bees through flickr or instagram. You can see in my sidebar linky parties which I regularly visit or upcoming blog hops. This month I have blocks for the Modern 4×5 bee and a mini quilt to send out, in addition to my monthly commitment to the Canadians Quilt {bee} which I co-administer on Flickr.

 

I would love for you to come back to visit again–I am looking forward to Bonnie Hunter’s mystery quilt starting next Friday (I don’t really need another project, but when has that stopped me?) and the Tammy 4 All Seasons blog hop in early January. And maybe I’ll actually finish my nephew’s quilt in time for Christmas.

Don’t forget to visit our Ontario hosts, Lorna from Sew Fresh Quilts, and Sandy from Upstairs Hobby Room, and also the Sew Sisters blog, for some fantastic giveaways and links to bloggers from across this great country.

As a thank you for visiting, I have a giveaway of my own–a Moda honeycomb from Happy Go Lucky and a half-yard of Kona Coral for binding (add batting and backing, and you will have yourself a nice little quilt). I have decided that making a quilt out of a single collection of fabric is not my thing–I would much rather buy only the fabrics I love, and mix and match different designers, to create something which is totally unique. Just leave me a comment about something unique about your sewing or crafting style, and I’ll choose a random winner after 8 pm EST on Sunday November 23.

honeycomb

57 comments

  1. Sherry VF · ·

    I hear what you say about making a quilt from a single collection. I’ve done that once and it was much harder than you’d think to get colors and values to work. I think it works best in smaller projects like table runners. However, I’d love to try those precut hexis! svonfumetti at yahoo dot com

  2. Hello Lisa, I of course ADORE your work, especially since I look at your fabric basket on a daily basis that you made for me.

  3. Thanks for the great giveaway. I love Happy Go Lucky! I started quilting by doing everything by hand 7 years ago, but decided I wanted to speed up the process. So, I learned how to machine piece and quilt.

  4. These look so cheerful! Thanks for offering them.

  5. Deb vezina · ·

    Well not so unique, but I start many and then wait for inspiration to strike twice to get them finished!

