New toy and Works in Progress

Mid week already? Time sure flies when I’m having fun! Did you see all the yummy fabric being shown on instagram from this past weekend’s quilt market? Ah yes, but I have all those commitments to finish up…

Fellow Modern Quilt Guild member Christine at Stitch All the Things (multi-talented, she is) has a To-Do Tuesday link up, so here is my current list of items in progress to get Done.

-finish up Abbey jacket for my daughter
-finish bee blocks for charity quilt, Modern Quilt Guild (we have a group of individual members, and the blocks are being assembled across the pond in Scotland, so I need to get hopping and send these off)
-finish October bee block for Sheila (here is the first of two) and make her block for Modern 4×5 Bee so I can mail them both (convenient, having the same partner in two bees)
-clean my new toy (1947 Featherweight for a very good price)

wpid-wp-1414331344954.jpeg

And a few wishful thinking items:
-baste my nephew’s quilt
make October Sugar Block Club block (nah, I’ll wait for November’s to come out)
-finish triangles for Starbright quilt

This is going to be great.  #starbrightquilt @stitchedincolor #annamariahorner  #amh

Linking to Stitch All the Things and Let’s Bee Social with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts.

Have a great week!

to-do tuesday

11 comments

  1. Wow, you do have a list! Definitely doable too! I LOVE your Featherweight! I hope you have a lot of fun with it. I’ve switched all of my piecing over to mine. She pieces so beautifully and now I can keep my other sewing machine set up for quilting without having to constantly switch feet.

    Have a wonderful week and I hope you make all the progress you are hoping for!

    1. I’m really excited about getting her set up as a portable machine classes too! On Oct 29, 2014 12:15 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  2. You have quite a to-do list there! Your triangles for the star-bright are promising; good luck cutting and assembling more.

    1. That wasn’t all of them, only 28 left! On Oct 29, 2014 9:30 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  3. Indeed I was watching the goings on of Quilt Market from my couch ; )
    Your work in progress looks lovely

    1. Quilt market reminds me that quilting, especially in the States, is a billion dollar industry. On Oct 29, 2014 10:09 AM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  4. Congrats on the Featherweight! I just used mine all weekend at a retreat. They have the prettiest straight stitch.

    1. There is a lot to be said for doing one thing and doing it well. I’m looking forward to getting her purring!

  5. You will be busy this week, and I cannot wait to see your projects. The triangles look great, and I’m curious about the abbey jacket. I have three singer 301’s with one of them having been my grandma’s. My favorite lightweight machine so far has been an inexpensive brother, although the sturdiest machine I own is my New Home (made with metal it’s a heavy workhorse). Do you have a serger as well? Look forward to seeing your work.

    1. No I don’t have a serger, I manage by using the over lock stitches on my sewing machine. I learned to sew on my mom’s Singer, although I could never quite get the hang of the knee lever. It didn’t have a zig zag stitch, but she did have the buttonhole attachment that made gorgeous buttonholes. She just did garments and home decor items, not quilts. On 2014-10-31 5:58 PM, “Lisa in Port Hope” wrote:

      >

  6. Great list and congrats on the new machine

