Triangle Jewels – Blogger’s Quilt Festival

I want to share the story of my Triangle Jewels quilt with you today.  The end of the story, is that this quilt is going to a baby boy who will be born very soon to my work colleague.  Based on the clothes that she wears, and a few comments that she has made, T. and her husband like clean designs and simple patterns, not cutesy baby fabrics, so I knew this quilt would be perfect.

Triangle Jewels finish

But I didn’t start it with her in mind.  I started it because I got sucked into yet another quilt-along, hosted by Paula at the Sassy Quilter.  The triangle quilts she previewed on her blog spoke to me as modern, and since I had never worked with equilateral triangles, I decided to push myself out of my comfort zone and give it a try. I picked the Anna Maria Horner Sinister Swarm fabric, plus three other AMH, then dove into my box of Kona solids for complementary fabrics (click on the photo to go to my flickr stream, where the fabrics are listed).

Triangle QAL fabric choices

I cut out the triangles.  I sewed together the triangles.  The pace was fast, but I got them laid out and the rows sewn together.  I found the Lizzy House 1001 Peeps on sale and it matched the front nicely.  I basted the quilt and started the straight lines to accentuate the jewel shapes.

Then I got stuck.  I wanted to quilt down a few puffy areas, but I was worried whether my free-motion quilting was “good enough” to give to someone else.  So it sat.  I put it on my Q3-finish-a-long list but still it sat.  And then it was 3 weeks until T. was going to start her maternity leave and I was running out of time.  So over a couple of evenings, I added the figure 8 quilting.  Back to the solids box, I had enough of the Kona Azure for 2-1/4″ binding.  I decided to try machine binding on this, since hand binding really bothers my wrist (carpal tunnel syndrome). All photos in this post were taken after washing.

quilting detail

I am really happy with this finish, I think it is beautiful, and T. was almost overwhelmed when I gave it to her. My advice to others is, just try something.  Don’t worry about perfection, enjoy the process.

Triangle Jewels

Linking to Amy’s Creative Side for the Blogger’s Quilt Festival. I’m entering this in the Modern Quilt category, because it is modern to me. Please go and visit all the other marvelous quilts, and participate by commenting and voting for your favourite.

Stats:
Size = 55″ x 51″
Batting = Warm and White
Quilted by me on my domestic Husqvarna 755 using variegated Wonderfil thread

Triangle Jewels perfect size for cuddling

Blogger's Quilt Festival

15 comments

  1. Lisa, your quilt is beautiful. Thank you for sharing its story–I’m sure I’m not the only quilter who needs to be advised to take the next step, try something I’m uncertain of, rather than having a quilt top sit unfinished. I’m going to follow your example and machine quilt the baby gift that has been waiting for several weeks for me to gather up my courage.

    1. Be in a good peaceful state of mind, take it slow, and just enjoy. In my opinion, quilts are meant to be used, however beautiful. I would love you to come back and show me your finish.

  2. Oh my goodness, I completely adore this quilt! I love the triangles, I love the colours that you’ve used and I love the quilting too. Such great work 🙂

    1. Thank you for the sweet comment! I think the Kona Pomegranate is my favourite. I hope you will come back and visit again!

  3. You’ve made a beautiful quilt. The color scheme is wonderful and I totally dig the no-nonce nice baby quilt 🙂

    1. It’s a quilt that will grow with him for many years. It’s a little sad to part with it but I decided that I don’t need to be knee-deep in quilts 🙂

  4. Great quilt and good for you for trying something new! You’re right – just enjoy the process!

    1. I’ve been doing a lot of equilateral triangle projects lately, they may be slightly addicting 😉

  5. Such a beautiful finish, Lisa! You know I have a fondness for triangle quilts… And I love how you quilted yours. This will be a much loved gift!

    1. I love how two people can start with the same pattern, and change fabric, quilting, and even layout to come up with a completely different design and yet both are beautiful!

  6. I do love this quilt! I hope to leave my own comfort zone with some free motion quilting soon 🙂

    1. I like practising on placemats–easier to handle than a full quilt and since they’re just going to get covered with a plate, no harm if the FMQ is a little wonky.

      On Tue, Oct 28, 2014 at 8:51 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  7. I can never resist a triangle quilt! Love your version, the bright colors and AMH are great!

    1. Thank you, enjoy the bloggers quilt festival!

  8. I’m so behind on your posts – this is a lovely quilt! I especially love the photo of your daughter in it. Looks so cozy. Remembering other’s don’t notice imperfections is a good thing. Thank you!

